Research Guides (LibGuides): Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Market Analysis

Market Analysis Databases & Websites

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
Via questionnaires and interviews, MRI-Simmons provides a study of American consumer behaviors regarding: media usage, products/brands used, engagement with entertainment & leisure activities, and additional questions on behaviors, activities, and values. Survey participants' demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics are also included.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Claritas MyBestSegments: ZIP Code Look-up
Nielsen's lifestyle segmentation systems define every neighborhood in the U.S. in terms of distinct lifestyle types. Enter a zipcode and obtain a neighborhood's top five segments, along with some descriptive detail about each segment's lifestyle traits.
Nielsen Insights
Nielsen, a leading global information & measurement company, provides market research, insights & data about what people watch, listen to & buy. Insights analyzes consumer trends, behaviors and activities, giving brands, publishers, marketers and agencies the inside track on how to engage with people across screens, stores and platforms.

Advertising Markets

Bacon's Media Directories
The BEST media directories for creating media lists; different volumes cover magazines, newspapers, internet, radio, and TV/cable. Available in print, Irwin Library Reference, call no.: P88.8. B33.

Tips for company or industry research:

NAICS Code Lookup - When reseraching a company or industry, it is helpful to know its NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code which identifies the products or services that the company/industry provides. Many of the databases listed below can then be searched by NAICS codes.

To learn more about what the databases below cover, consult the Business Database Coverage Chart. Consult the Butler Libraries Business Databases page for additional business resources.

Key Company/Industry Databases

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect;
Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.

Sources for retrieving statistics:

The next set of resources compiles statistics into survey reports.

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
MarketingCharts
MarketingCharts is a commercial website and newsletter published daily to serve the needs of marketing professionals looking for the latest trends and data. They provide reports on the marketing/advertising and retail/ecommerce industries.
Experian Marketing Serivces
Experian Simmons, a leading marketing research company, publishes periodic, free reports on consumer behavior.

Ipsos--News and Polls
A selection of poll summaries (not the actual poll data) produced by Ipsos, a survey-based market research company.
Gallup Polls
Contains recent polling data from the Gallup Poll. Archived polls are available with subscription.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
PollingReport.com
The polling report publishes national and state poll highlights, plus analysis by the country’s top public opinion experts. An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
The Washington Post Polls
Contains polling data from The Washington Post from 2011 to the present.
Nielsen Media Research
Measures media audiences, including social media, internet, television, radio, theater films, and newspapers.

Explore these LibGuide pages at Rutgers University and USC to identify organizations that monitor and rank companies for their coporate social responsibility commitment. The pages include links to CSR centers, institutes, associations, and CSR ranking sites.

Corporate Social Responsibility web resources
CSR web resources page created and maintained by librarians Ka-Neng Au and Roberta Tipton at Rutgers University.

GREAT SITE for STR228 CSR Campaign Project!

CorporateRegister.com
This site provides company CSR reports as well as news on CSR/CR issues. Registration is REQUIRED, but site is free.

Entrepreneurship & Innovation

Market Analysis Databases & Websites

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS