Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Journals in the Field
Books at Irwin Library
Introduction to Clinical Methods in Communication Disorders by
Call Number: Butler Irwin Library (RC423 .I545 2007 )
Publication Date: 2007
Basics of Audiology: from Vibrations to Sounds by
Call Number: Butler Irwin Library (RF297 .C73 2008 )
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Butler Library Catalog Searching
Type the following Library of Congress Subject Headings into the Butler's Primo (Library) Catalog to find books in the area of Speech Science and Speech Disorders:
|Speech Disorders in children
|Language Disorders in children
|American Sign Language
Browse the Irwin Library Collection....
Roam the stacks! Here are some general call number ranges for books in the area of Speech Disorders:
Class Database Presentations
Review the following database descriptions and characteristics powerpoint slides to help you search the CSD databases:
Communication Sciences & Disorders Journal Article Databases
The following databases will lead you to journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, books chapters, etc. in the communication disorders subject area. While Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Online (ComDis) is the core database, the interdisciplinary nature of this subject area warrants the other databases pertinent as well.
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome Online)
ComDis Dome provides access to information in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology. The database includes books, journal articles and dissertations, as well as professional resources such as institutions, and web sites, scholars, and grants.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences
Judith Kuster, speech-language pathologist & associate professor at Minnesota State University, Mankato, has assembled a vast amount of communication sciences and disorders information – this is a great mega-site!
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
The University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library (http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/) is responsible for this site's extensive list of medical topics and their corresponding Internet sites. From the main page, select speech disorders and/or otolaryngology.
American Sign Language Browser
Michigan State University provides this ASL Browser. Click on a letter or word and a QuickTime movie shows you how to sign that letter or word.
Professional Associations not only can provide career path support but are themselves good places to find overview information, reports, and data concerning Communication Disorders.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
the professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 130,000 members and affiliates who are speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and speech, language, and hearing scientists in the United States and internationally.
Indiana Speech-Language-Hearing Association
this statewide organization supports its members in the provision of quality services through advocacy, professional development, and public awareness.
National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
professional development geared directly to students!
American Academy of Audiology
is the world's largest professional organization of, by, and for audiologists.
Health Sciences Librarian
Blackwell published Handbooks in ebook format. Click on the book image or title to access (Butler-affiliation authentication required).
The MIT encyclopedia of communication disorders
(Click on above image for online access)
Reference Room RC423 .M56 2004
Random House American Sign Language dictionary
Reference Room HV2475 .C668 1994
Blackwell Handbook of Language Development
P118 .B583 2007