LibGuides: FYS Exploring the Human Condition (Vecera): Welcome!

Your Contact

Sally Neal

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

Strategic Communication

Journalism

Sports Media

Esports

Exploratory Communication

English

Exploratory Studies

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Overview source of Science Fiction Films

Films from the Future by Andrew Maynard
ISBN: 9781633539068
Publication Date: 2018-11-15

Want to reuse this content?

You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

"Exploring the Human Condition"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Key Resources for your Research

Search the Databases below for research on AI and its psychological, social, and cultural impact.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

WorldCat Discovery Search Box

To research Magdalene Laundries in Ireland. WorldCat (Butler Libraries' Catalog) is a good place to start.

Search Butler Libraries

Also, check out: Justice for Magdalenes Research for primary source materials: oral histories, documents, writings.

FYS Exploring the Human Condition (Vecera)