Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A good search starts with brainstorming keywords.
Social Science Anthropology Cultural.
Political Science Public Policy Cultural Policy.
Social Science Popular Culture.
Home Psychological aspects.
Social justice, common good, autonomy, globalization, urban space
Migration of Nations.
Social Science Human Geography.
Human beings Migrations.
Migrations of nations History.
Specific to a Race/Ethnic Group:
Emigration and immigration.
Social Science Emigration & Immigration.
Transnationalism History 20th century.
cultural identity, immigrant experience, afropolitanism, belonging
Advice on how and when to paraphrase, cite. etc.
Explore the databases listed below for academic, peer-reviewed research articles, books, book chapters, and encyclopedia/handbook overviews.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles and Scholarly Book Databases
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly eBooks from Oxford University Press
Literary Criticism Databases
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
Evaluate Your Sources
>Who is the author/creator? What is their expertise? Is it education or experience? Did they live through an event? What makes them an authority?
>Is there anything about this source that makes you doubt its credibility? Are there sources cited? What are these sources and does the author correctly interpret these sources?
>When and why was this source written? Is it trying to sell something or inform you? Is is too old to be relevant? Do you need something older?
>Does this information help you with your research need? Does it add value? What does it lack?
>How do you plan on using this source? Is it background info? Is it something you are arguing against?
Librarian Contact for this LibGuide
MLA Style Guidance / Avoiding Plagiarism
MLA Citation Style Instructions - link to page on citing electronic resources - Online Database articles:
Johansen, Emily. "History in Place: Territorialized Cosmopolitanism in Teju Cole’s Open City." Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies, vol. 20 no. 1, 2011, pp. 20-39. Project MUSE, muse.jhu.edu/article/695527.
MLA Style Center: Practice Template and Works Cited: A Quick Guide.
The following citation generators can create a base citation for your sources; however, always check the what was generated - technology generation of a citation is never as good as a human eye reviewing the citations for content and formatting correctness!
Also note that most of these tools will only let you format a limited number of citations without requiring a fee, or may require that you view ads in order to continue on with the tool.