Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Want to Reuse this Content?
You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.
The meme that started it all. © Grumpy Cat Limited, used under fair use
This guide was created for you, students of FYS - Why Is It Funny?. I'm here to help with your research, so please contact me when you have questions: phone, email, chat, or drop by my office any time. (See the box to the right.)
The tabs in this box will link you to databases and resources that you may find helpful for your projects.
The tabs at the top of the page will help you find, evaluate, and cite your sources.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Studies in American Humor
"Studies in American Humor publishes articles on topics, themes, practices, practitioners, and media across the wide spectrum of American humor, past and present, for an audience made up primarily of scholars and students in the humanities, especially literary and cultural studies. The journal values new transnational and interdisciplinary approaches as well as traditional critical and historical humanities scholarship"
The Birth of Comedy by
Call Number: PA3161 .B57 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
"Aside from the well-known plays of Aristophanes, many of the comedies of ancient Greece are known only through fragments and references written in Greek. Now a group of distinguished scholars brings these nearly lost works to modern readers with lively English translations of the surviving texts. The Birth of Comedy brings together a wealth of information on the first three generations of Western comedy."
Reflecting the Audience by
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
"This work begins to fill a large gap in theatre studies: the lack of any comprehensive study of 19th-century British theatre audiences. In an attempt to bring some order to the enormous amount of available primary material, Jim Davis and Victor Emeljanow focus on London from 1840 to 1880."
Modern Britain: A Social History, 1750-2011 by
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
"Fully revised and updated, the third edition of this deservedly popular history book incorporates new currents in historical writing on matters such as the language of class, the position of women, and the revolution worked by the Internet and mobile technologies."
Stagestruck: The Business of Theater in Eighteenth-Century France and Its Colonies by
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
"Stagestruck traces the making of a vibrant French theater industry between the reign of Louis XIV and the French Revolution. During this era more than eighty provincial and colonial cities celebrated the inauguration of their first public playhouses. These theaters emerged as the most prominent urban cultural institutions in prerevolutionary France, becoming key sites for the articulation and contestation of social, political, and racial relationships."
The Roman Audience: Classical Literature as Social History by
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
"The book proposes the following hypothesis: that non-technical literature in the Roman world, both poetry and prose, was composed in the first instance for oral delivery to a large public audience, and that the copying and circulation of written texts was only a secondary stage in the ‘publication’ process."
Philosophy of Humor
"Although most people value humor, philosophers have said little about it, and what they have said is largely critical. Three traditional theories of laughter and humor are examined, along with the theory that humor evolved from mock-aggressive play in apes. Understanding humor as play helps counter the traditional objections to it and reveals some of its benefits, including those it shares with philosophy itself."
Report an Access Problem
Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)