Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa is a Country
website that covers stories ranging from politics, social issues, and music from all over Africa
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
"Brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the U. of Wis."
Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa is an independent Pan-African research organisation with a primary focus on the social sciences
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources is an annotated directory of online resources about Africa.
An independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa conducted in more than a dozen African countries and repeated on a regular cycle
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 2000 news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public
Jollof News (Senegal)
JollofNews.com will cover exclusively news on both Gambia and Senegal, and it will serve as the first site to provide exclusive news on Senegal in English.
Sowetan (South Africa)
South African news site.
City Press (South Africa)
South African news site.
Website that posts pictures from all over Africa with tabs for each country to enable narrower searches
Africa Through a Lens
National Archives (G.B.) website showing the history of Africa through pictures
"Afripedia seeks to be a visual guide to contemporary urban culture on the continent. Each half hour documentary film presents an Africa that is hip and new, in a state of constant self-discovery."
Africa Past & Present: The Podcast about African History, Culture, and Politics
Africa Past and Present is hosted by Michigan State University historians Peter Alegi and Peter Limb and produced by MATRIX—The Center for Humane Arts, Letters, and Social Sciences Online at MSU. Thanks to funding from Matrix and the MSU Department of History, this web site includes an online digital archive of all shows, as well as links to multimedia resources and collections of relevance to African experiences, past and present.
African Studies Centre podcasts
From the University of Oxford, one of the world's leading centres for the study of Africa.
Getty Images provides images for many magazines and other publications and they allow you to EMBED their images using code that they provide. Please note that these images, unlike the Creative Commons images, CANNOT be used in commercial settings or modified in any way. Again, the ONLY thing you can do with these images is embed them.
From your assignment description: "Your creation should credit its sources. You can provide source notes and/or bibliography at the end or embed source credits throughout."
If you use something word-for-word, place it in quotation marks and make it clear which source your content is coming from.
Best Practice Attribution for Creative Commons Images
Title of image/video [linked to original image] by Author [linked to profile page] under License [linked to license deed]
- For this assignment, make sure that your attribution links back to the original image source! If you cannot hyperlink, include the full url.
- You're encouraged to cite your image at the time you use it. If you cannot place it in a caption or space near the photo, include it on the same page with explanatory text. For example, if you use an image for your website banner, you can put a box at the bottom of your page that says "Header image" with the proper attribution.
- If the image is Public Domain, we still advise you to list the title (linked back to its source) and the author. Instead of a license, you can say "used under Public Domain."
Video & Other Media
- Most video or audio embeds include the title and link directly back to the source of the video, so this can stand as proper in-text attribution. However, you should list the full citation within your references. If your embed does not provide this information, you are encouraged to provide an in-text citation to accompany the reference entry.
- APA, MLA, and Chicago each give a format to follow for video and online multimedia:
What happens if you don't have a piece of information?
- If there's no author name available, simply do not include that piece of information and begin with the title. If there's only a username and no proper name, use the username.
- If there's no publication date available, include the date you accessed the item after its location but before its URL.
For text resources, check out the Citations LibGuide
Scholarly Communication Librarian