Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indiana History

Resources for the Research and Study of Indiana History

Butler University Libraries Digital Collections

Butler University Libraries has several collections that can be accessed online. These include collections held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives. 

Selection of Digital Image Collections

Topic: Indianapolis, Indiana Images

The W. H. Bass Photo Company was present in Indianapolis from the late 19th century through the circa 1970s. The company documented the state and progression of many buildings throughout Indianapolis. The Indiana Historical Society has only a small fraction of the many images available so if a building is not present in the digital collection, be sure to reference the collection guide for how to search all of the materials in the Bass Photo Company Collection: https://indianahistory.org/wp-content/uploads/bass-photo-collection.pdf.

The Indianapolis Public Library digital collections not only includes their own collections but also digitized materials from people within the Indianapolis and Marion County community. You can view digitized materials via search, collection, and even collecting initiative. For more information about Special Collections at the Indianapolis Public Library, visit their website: https://www.indypl.org/locations/central-library/indianapolis-special-collections-room.

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter