Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online)
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Call Number Ranges
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Shakespeare falls within the English Renaissance (1500-1640) call number range:
PR 2199 - PR 3195
To Find Works Written by Shakespeare:
Use WorldCat Discovery (box below). Search by title. Use the limiters on the left to restrict results by author, or use this search string (au:Shakespeare). Many of these texts are available in print and as eBooks.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Thomas Mann and Shakespeare: Something Rich and Strange by
Publication Date: 2015
Available as an eBook. Click on the link above, and then click View Online. Description: ""In Doktor Faustus, Thomas Mann associated Shakespeare with the Devil and the demonic guilt of Nazism. Bringing together major scholars from diverse disciplines and countries, this is the first ever book-length study to explore the always fascinating if sometimes disturbing connections between Shakespeare and Mann."
Shakespeare and Women by
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Shakespeare and Women challenges a number of current assumptions about Shakespeare and women, including the women in his family, the women who worked in the London theatre industry, the female characters in his plays, and the dark lady of the Sonnets.
Shakespeare and His Comedies by
Publication Date: 2013-10-11
First published in 1957. This edition reprints the second edition of 1962. The originality, vitality and variety of Shakespeare's comedies do not suggest a writer at ease with a formula which works to his own satisfaction and the pleasure of his audience; against first impressions they suggest an artist seeking to express an idea which is always eluding a completely developed presentation. The second edition of this book contains an extensive new chapter on Pericles, Cymbeline, The Winter's Tale and The Tempest.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Credo Reference is a digital reference library containing all types of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature.
Publication Date: 2005
"In a magnificent feat of re-creating sixteenth-century London and Stratford, bestselling biographer and novelist Peter Ackroyd brings William Shakespeare to life in the manner of a contemporary rather than a biographer."
Will in the World by
Publication Date: 2004
"Stephen Greenblatt, the charismatic Harvard professor who "knows more about Shakespeare than Ben Jonson or the Dark Lady did" (John Leonard, Harper's ), has written a biography that enables us to see, hear, and feel how an acutely sensitive and talented boy, surrounded by the rich tapestry of Elizabethan life; full of drama and pageantry, and also cruelty and danger; could have become the world's greatest playwright."
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
"Shakespeare Bulletin is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal which publishes articles at the cutting edge of Shakespearean and early modern performance studies and theatre history."
"Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, Shakespeare Quarterly is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies."
"Provides news, reviews of books and performances, abstracts, and brief critical articles on all aspects of Shakespeare, his works, and his world."
"An international volume of essays, studies and reviews dealing with the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare's production in it."
"Contains essays, notes, poems, and thought-provoking ideas concerning Shakespeare's works; title derives from the first recorded allusion to Shakespeare by a rival playwright and poet on the Elizabethan stage, Robert Greene."
Trying to track down an article? Journals A-Z will show you whether we own the journal, what years we have access to, and give you links into the databases that provide full-text. Search by journal title.
Search Butler University Libraries Catalog (WorldCat Discovery) to discover additional streaming media and DVDs on Shakespeare.
Shakespeare is Alive & Well in Modern World
This program compares Shakespearean themes with similar themes from modern works, enabling students to penetrate complex Elizabethan vocabulary and experience insight into character's feelings, motives and actions.
Shakespeare and the Globe
"This program artfully brings together a treasury of visual resources to retrace Shakespeare's life and work."
Shakespeare on the Silver Screen
"This program combines clips from significant movie productions with an eclectic group of interviews to demonstrate the Bard’s uncanny ability to fire the modern imagination—especially through the medium of film."
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
Questions? Ask Butler Libraries!
Butler Libraries Irwin Library
For immediate assistance, chat with the Information Commons desk.
To contact the librarian that supports the discipline or subject area covered by this LibGuide, email Sally Neal, Associate Dean for Instruction and User Services, email@example.com.
Irwin Library's regular semester hours are:
||10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
||7:30 AM - 1:00 AM
||7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
||12:00 Noon - 8:00 PM
Check the Library's website for holiday and break hours.
Text us: (317) 758-3551