LibGuides: Strategic Communication: PR and Advertising: Market Research

Morris - Nonprofit Advertising - Assignment & Outline

Citing Sources - APA Style

This Strat Comm/Arts Admin Citing Cheat Sheet, lists how to cite sources that Butler Libraries subscribes to such as Simmons, Business Source Complete, GuideStar, etc. This guide is based off the Purdue OWL's APA Citing Style Guide.

Business Databases

Complete Listing of Butler Business Databases - many used for Strat Comm research!

Review this Business Databases - By Information Need matrix to determine which database best meets your research need.

Tutorials

Simmons Tutorials and Searching Help

Note! Simmons Insights has a learning curve. To quickly come up to speed on how to search it, follow the tutorials and step-by-step directions below :

How to Create a Cross Tab
View BOTH the 6 minute video AND the step-by-step screenshot directions. Created by Ohio University Librarian, Chad Boeninger.
Simmons Quick Reports Tutorial

Market Analysis - Commercial Vendors

Statistical Tools - statistics on what consumers buy, do, think, and value

MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Via questionnaires and interviews, Simmons provides a study of American adult consumers regarding: media usage, products/brands, services, and in-depth demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics. Access limited to 15 users at one time. Consult the tutorials in the left column for step-by-step instructions on how to use.

How to read a Simmons Crosstab - how to interpret your Cross Tab results

Citing Simmons Insights Data:

MRI Simmons Insights. (2017, Spring). Energy Snack Consumption and Recycling Behaviors based on Age Demographic [Data file]. Retrieved from Simmons Insights database.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.

Building a SimplyAnalytics Map - Step-by-Step Instructions

Claritas: ZIP Code Look-up
Claritas’ lifestyle segmentation systems define every household in the U.S. by distinct lifestyle types called segments to provide a picture of who lives where and what they are like. Marketers use these insights to create more effective and efficient marketing strategies.

Market Research Databases - provide reports and statistics on markets for: consumer goods, services, companies, and activities (work, leisure, entertainment, etc.).

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.

Mintel Tutorial

Citing a Mintel Report:

Kelter, D. (2017). Seasonal Dining Trends—US - January 2017—Market Research Report. Retrieved from Mintel Reports database.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.

Tips for company or industry research:

NAICS Code Lookup - When reseraching a company or industry, it is helpful to know its NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code which identifies the products or services that the company/industry provides. Many of the databases listed below can then be searched by NAICS codes.

To learn more about what the databases below cover, consult the Business Database Coverage Chart. Consult the Butler Libraries Business Databases page for additional business resources.

Key Company/Industry Databases

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect;
Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

Sources for retrieving statistics:

United States Census Data
Find data (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about communities.
STATSIndiana
Provides convenient access to demographic data (age, income, housing, education, occupation, health care, etc.) for geographic areas in Indiana.
SAVI
SAVI is a free resource that provides data about Central Indiana communities; it provides local data about the social, economic, and physical conditions of neighborhoods, townships, and counties and provides tools to analyze and visualize this data.

Resources that compile statistics into survey reports.

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
American Time Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
MarketingCharts
MarketingCharts is a commercial website and newsletter published daily to serve the needs of marketing professionals looking for the latest trends and data. They provide reports on the marketing/advertising and retail/ecommerce industries.
ERSI Demographics
Esri Demographics support commercial market analytics and non-commercial usages, such as economic development, planning, and at risk population assessment. Esri Demographics are accessible in four ways: dynamic web maps, data enrichment, reports, and infographics.
VALS Survey (Strategic Business Insights)
VALS™ is a consulting and consumer research service. Through survey and focus groups, they map psychological traits to explain and predict consumer behavior. Link is to the site's free content.
Experian Marketing Serivces
Experian Simmons, a leading marketing research company, publishes periodic, free reports on consumer behavior.

Gallup Polls
Contains recent polling data from the Gallup Poll. Archived polls are available with subscription.
New York Times Polls
Contains polling data collected by The New York Times from 2009 to the present.
The Washington Post Polls
Contains polling data from The Washington Post from 2011 to the present.
PollingReport.com
The polling report publishes national and state poll highlights, plus analysis by the country’s top public opinion experts. An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
Nielsen Media Research
Measures media audiences, including social media, internet, television, radio, theater films, and newspapers.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The Center has specific Research Project sites that you can access off this site: People & the Press, Journalism, Internet & American Life,Religion & Public Life, Hispanic Trends, Global Attitudes, and Social & Demographic Trends.
The Associate Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research
The AP-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research was created to join the expertise of NORC, one of the world’s premier independent research organizations, with The AP, which provides news seen every day over all media platforms and formats by more than half of the world’s population.

Corporate Social Responsibility Rating Site

CorporateRegister.com
This site provides company CSR reports as well as news on CSR/CR issues. Registration is REQUIRED, but site is free.

Subscription databases for corporate social responsibility articles and reports.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

Additional Butler Business Databases

Other LibGuides providing Corporate Social Responsibility Resources

Explore these LibGuide pages at Rutgers University and USC to identify organizations that monitor and rank companies for their coporate social responsibility commitment. The pages include links to CSR centers, institutes, associations, and CSR ranking sites.

Corporate Social Responsibility web resources
CSR web resources page created and maintained by librarians Ka-Neng Au and Roberta Tipton at Rutgers University.
Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility: Public Sites & Company Reports
CSR web resources page created and maintained by University of Southern California business librarians.

Cross-Cultural Strategic Communication Databases

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data reports on countries, companies, market, and consumers from approximately 200 countries. View this tutorial to learn how to search about a country

Statistica
A statistic portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include the Ipsos Affluent Survey, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.

LibGuide on: International and Intercultural Strategic Communication
A LibGuide maintained by Jeff Knapp, Communications Librarian at Penn State. Links to additional country fact sources (some are only accessible to Penn State users).
Hofstede Insights
Using Geert Hofstede's research on cultural dimensions theory, The Hofstede Centre offers education in the field of culture and management based on academic research and practical experience. The website offers tools to help you visualize cultural differences and their impact.

Your Librarian

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Strategic Communication: PR and Advertising: Market Research