Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Lit Resources
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Provides citations from scholarly books and journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) periods.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. There are sections specifically for Canadian literature (PS 8001-8599), German literature (PT1-4897), Romance languages (French/Italian/Spanish/Portuguese) literature (PQ1-9999), etc. Several popular World literature titles are classified into the end of the English literature call number range:
PR 8309 - PR 9680
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
World History in Context
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
ariel: A Review of International English Literature
"Focused on the critical and scholarly study of global literatures in English."
Comparative Literature Studies
"It brings you the work of eminent critics, scholars, theorists, and literary historians, whose essays range across the rich traditions of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas."
"The premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide."
World Literature Today
"A literary magazine founded at the University of Oklahoma in 1927."
Trying to track down an article? Journals A-Z will show you whether we own the journal, what years we have access to, and give you links into the databases that provide full-text. Search by journal title.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Sharing our eVideo with others?
With both of these databases, you'll need to do a little more than copy/paste the top URL. These directions will walk you through it, step-by-step.
Digital Collections & Primary Sources: World Literature
"World Literature" is very broadly defined. Many specific primary source collections exist, but identifying them can be tricky. Reach out to your liaison librarian for individual research support.
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Freely accessible historical newspapers from the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and select other countries.