Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the LibGuide for American Politics. Choose from the topics in the tabs across the top of this window.
The Butler University Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Most political science books are found in the J and K areas.
Core Databases & E-Books
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Directory of Open Access Repositories (DOAR) This link opens in a new window
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of over 2,000 academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Legislative information on the Internet maintained by the Library of Congress at http://thomas.loc.gov was retired, replaced by https://www.congress.gov/
U.S. Constitution Annotated
See also https://constitution.congress.gov/browse/ Legal analysis and interpretation of each section of the U.S. Constitution, founding document links and U.S. Supreme Court decisions relating to its provisions
U.S. Government information portal
Report an Access Problem
Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)