Research Guides (LibGuides): Mental Health Counseling: Finding Articles, Videos, and More

Search Tools for Finding Information

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ERIC site)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
PsycINFO + Medline

Set up to search both PsycINFO and Medline simultaneously.
Scopus
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page).

DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.

Link provides access to:
• DSM-5
• DSM-5-TR
• DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases
• DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
• DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
• Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5

FAQ: Finding Information about Psychological Tests
The APA Science Directorate answers hundreds of calls and emails each year from persons trying to locate the right test or find more information about psychological tests. APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided below and are divided into three topic areas: published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests and additional information on the proper use of tests.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycTESTS

Produced by the APA, PsycTESTS is a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, with thousands of test instruments and items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.

General Video Resources:

AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
This collection includes videos on Counseling and Therapy (see the link below)
You can search by title or filter the results list by subject, type of content (counseling session, interview, etc.) and more.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content. It includes a Counseling and Social Work Collection (see the link below)
Kanopy Streaming
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
This collection includes videos from Psychotherapy.net (see the link below)
SAGE Video
SAGE Video showcases relevant educational video across key social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs.