Research Guides (LibGuides): NW 210: The Natural World (Dr. Johnson): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for The Natural World: Chemistry and Society

"Chemistry and the Environment"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To gain awareness of some significant scientific theories and achievements, and to recognize how they are related both to other areas of science and to our understanding of broader societal issues.
To develop an understanding of the methods of natural science and a capacity to reason scientifically.
To experience first-hand the scientific process through discovery-based learning.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Academic Resources to Think About

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biological Sciences - all databases This link opens in a new window
This database includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-2015 This link opens in a new window
Content and images of National Geographic Magazine from 1888-2015
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.

NW 210: The Natural World (Dr. Johnson)

Science Librarian

Want to reuse this content?

Welcome!

Academic Resources to Think About

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS