Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PCA 250: Masks of Transformation (Meaden)

This LibGuide supports PCA250TH, Perspectives in the Creative Arts: Masks of Transformation taught by Professor Wendy Meaden.

Performing and Visual Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah Ward
they/she
Contact:
317.940.9218

Want to reuse this content?

Creative Commons Attribution License

You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the Perspectives in The Creative Arts section:

"Masks of Transformation"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objective and goals:

  1. To develop cognitive and affective appreciation for the process and products of artistic creation.
  2. To participate actively in the creation of an artistic product.
  3. To reflect on the nature and sources of aesthetic value.
  4. To develop habits of participation in artistic and cultural events that will lead to lifelong engagement within the creative arts.

This course will introduce the students to masking traditions, exercise their research and design skills, explore different mask building methods, and experience mask performance techniques.  Consideration will be given to understanding the creation of masks that are both appropriate to the needs of actor and character, and visually supportive of the performance genre. Students will develop creative capacities through construction of, and performance in masks. Students will gain a broader understanding and appreciation of cultural and theatrical masking through research, observation, and participation of mask activities.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Resources to Think About

Many of the books below are on course reserve for your class and can be checked out from the InfoCommons Desk in the library directly.  In addition, your professor has supplied a bibliography of readings and references to complement your syllabus and help get you started in your research! These items can be searched in the online library catalog and are either held by Butler or can be requested through InterLibrary Loan!

Course Reserves Search

  • (by Course Name "PCA 250 TH" or by Instructor "Meaden")

PCA250 Masks Bibliography (Thank you, Dr. Meaden!)

Useful Databases

The Butler Libraries has access to millions of documents through subscriptions to databases, this includes thousands of videos through our streaming databases.  Some of the most helpful for your class are listed below with tips on how to search in the description.

General Databases

Streaming Databases

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter