Research Guides (LibGuides): African Politics and Politics of Gender and Sexuality in Africa: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
The Library of Congress has incredible collections of documents, images, multimedia, and more about many facets of American history.
Smithsonian Collections
"The Smithsonian's collections represent our nation's rich heritage, art from across the globe, and the immense diversity of the natural and cultural world."
DPLA Primary Source Sets
Sets of primary source documents and related activities to explore a variety of topics in US history
Digital History
Breaks content down into eras and topics. Includes primary sources, voices, and multimedia.

These are more subject-specific:

The 13th Amendment: Library of Congress Web Guide
Provides links to many online digital collections related to the 13th amendment.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Forced Labor: 1939-1945, Memory and History
After registering in the online archive, you can search and listen to the complete interviews, coming with transcripts, German translations, photos, and further material.
Library of Congress: Indian Removal Act
Includes links to primary source documents, maps, and more.
Native American Heritage Month
Includes exhibits and collections from multiple government bodies (including the National Archives and Smithsonian), as well as audio and video.
The Gilder Lehrman Collection
The Collection includes more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States. The Collection ranges from 1493 through the twentieth century and is widely considered one of the nation’s great archives in the Revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and Civil War periods.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Slave Voyages Database
The SlaveVoyages website is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more.

How can you find additional primary resources?

A Google search can normally bring these resources to light. Try this trick:
- Add "site:.edu" after your search term to limit to university resources, like LibGuides or university library collections.
- Add "site:.gov" after your search term to limit to U.S. government resources. You can also add .eu for European resources, or look up the domain for any particular country.
- Add "site:.org" after your search term to limit to organization sites. Note: not all organizations are credible!! However, many museums use this domain.
Ask a librarian!

African Politics and Politics of Gender and Sexuality in Africa

Subject Librarian

Primary Sources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS