Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alexander Street and ProQuest Databases
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest)
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Early Encounters in North America
Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises that reflect the social and cultural ferment of the late nineteenth century, The Gilded Age offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera
Indian Claims Insight
Indian Claims Insight is a research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
This collection contains fifty hours of primary footage and secondary documentaries that explore the key events of the sixties and early seventies
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)
Collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of the movement for women's rights.
LGBT Thought and Culture
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Women & Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices
Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000)
Intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Black Studies Center (ProQuest)
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Disability in the Modern World
Disability in the Modern World includes primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with video.
History Vault (ProQuest)
ProQuest History Vault contains archival materialssuch as digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials.
Working within the Database
When searching within the databases, keywords and names are the most useful basic search terms. If specific dates, places, or copyrights are known, Advanced Search options would be more useful for sorting the search results.
Search bars are in various places on various databases. Usually the search bar is located at the top of the home page or somewhere in the middle of the home page.
In order to export a document, an image or illustration, by clicking on the link to the primary source, the databases should come up with a list of information about the source. Within this information there should be a icon on the page with a PDF symbol or "download document" tab. Listed below are some examples as to what these icons might look like.
Other Databases will include a "Printer Friendly Version" which is a transcript. Other databases will exclusively have the transcript and not the original image. Below are examples of how text versions may appear on the individual databases.