Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources and Descriptions
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) was created for the purpose of providing accessible historical narratives to the general public. The DPLA houses digital exhibits, collections, and guides based on the occupation of the user (i.e. student guides, educator guides, etc).
DPLA Primary Source Sets
This portion of the DPLA focuses solely on primary sources. The sources are organized based on subjects, historical periods, and chronology.
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
-Independent Voices Homepage
Lesbian Herstory Archive
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience."
-Lesbian Herstory Archives About Page
Library of Congress
"The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office."- Library of Congress About Page
This database has been created and maintained by colleges and universities for the purpose of highlighting "student activism in marginalized communities" (about page). The collections deal primarily with American historical movements.