LibGuides: FYS: Medical Humanities (Scott): Welcome!

Welcome to FYS: Medical Humanities!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

Medical Humanities

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Resources to Think About

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Looking for more?

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed above! Do you know what sort of subject area that your research falls under? Try finding a database through the Databases Grouped by Subject page. Pick a subject and you'll be taken to a page where the liaison librarian for that subject has compiled a list of appropriate databases for you to use.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
Health Business FullTEXT provides full text coverage for nearly 130 administrative journals covering the business of health care administration.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

Do you know what sort of subject area that your research falls under? Try finding a database through the Databases Grouped by Subject page. Pick a subject and you'll be taken to a page where the liaison librarian for that subject has compiled a list of appropriate databases for you to use.

All About eBooks LibGuide

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of more than 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities, dating from the mid-20th century through the 2010s.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
This eBook database contains accessible titles in the sociology, history, politics, and business & management collections

A book held by the Libraries will be listed in WorldCAT with the following information:

First, you'll want to note where it is. Is it in the Irwin Library? Or Science Library? Is it in a special collection or on reserve? If you're not sure what the location is or where it is, ask at the IC desk. After that, you'll need to look at the call number: this will tell you where exactly the book is in the library and on the shelf. The call number is like coordinates for finding a book on the shelves.

FYS: Medical Humanities (Scott)

Your FYS Librarian

Spring 2024 In Class Activity: Evaluating Research Databases

Welcome to FYS: Medical Humanities!

Resources to Think About

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS