Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
"Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more." Browse by topic.
Measure of America
"Our mission is to provide easy-to-use yet methodologically sound tools for understanding well-being and opportunity in America."
American Fact Finder
The Census has discontinued American FactFinder but there are still ways on the Census site to examine data at the state, city, or county level.
"STATS Indiana is the statistical data utility for the State of Indiana, developed and maintained since 1985 by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. Support is or has been provided by the State of Indiana and the Lilly Endowment, the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and Indiana University."
Global Road Warrior
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.
CIA World Factbook
Geographic, demographic, economic, political, and historical information on every country in the world.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
"The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics
World Health Organization: Data and Statistics
"WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation."
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present)
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
This LibGuide page lists news agencies, newspapers, magazines, media, and more.
Want to Reuse this Content?
You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.
The CRAAP Test
The CRAAP test lists criteria that can help you evaluate the quality and appropriateness of the information sources you encounter.
When was the information published or posted?
Do you need historical or current information?
Has this information been revised or changed since it was first released?
BOTTOM LINE: Does this offer appropriately current or historical information?
Image: Bummer by Nick Harris1. Used under CC BY-ND
Does the information help you accomplish the purpose of your work/paper? Does this easily relate to your topic?
Does this source meet all your information needs or assignment requirements?
Is this source at an appropriate level for your intended audience?
Have you looked at a variety of sources? Why is this source better than others?
BOTTOM LINE: Is this a source that adds value to your work? Why is it worth including?
Image: Confused by CollegeDegrees360. Used under CC BY-SA 2.0
Who is the author? Who is the publisher?
- What expertise do they have with this subject?
- What is their educational background?
- Where are they from? Where are they living now?
- What political party do they belong to?
- What organizations or causes do they support?
- Are there any other biases you can ascertain?
BOTTOM LINE: Can you trust this author and publisher to know what they're talking about?
Image: [Man with Cameras] by i k o. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Is this information correct? Reliable?
Are sources listed? Cited within the text?
- Are these sources scholarly/academic?
- When were these sources published?
- Do these sources come from trustworthy authors/publishers?
If the source conducted its own original research:
- What methods were used to collect the data/information?
- What was the sample size or population?
- Are there any weaknesses in the way that they gather or analyzed their data?
- Do you feel that they provided adequate support for their conclusions?
BOTTOM LINE: Can you trust that this information is true?
Image: Darts by Richard_of_England. Used under CC BY 2.0
What is the purpose of this information source?
- To entertain? Inform? Educate? Pursuade? Sell?
- Are advertisements included? Photographs?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propoganda?
Do the authors/publishers make their intentions clear?
Is there bias - political, cultural, religious, ideological, personal, etc?
BOTTOM LINE: Is this source objective and impartial, or is it influenced by bias or hidden agendas?
Image: "Is your trip necessary?" by Richard Masoner / Cyclelicious.Used under CC BY-SA 2.0.