Research Guides (LibGuides): MK 473 Retailing (Chamberlaine): Databases & WSJ

Databases (Organized by Broad Topic)

If you know the name of the database you need, start with the Databases A-Z tab above.
Click on the other tabs to find databases by topic and type of source (ex: Consumers or Wall Street Journal-WSJ).

Databases A-Z

Note: The profiles in company databases are brief overviews and typically do not include specifics on company marketing issues or strategies. Use other databases to find that information. (Ex: Use Mintel for information on consumers and products or Use ProQuest One Business for articles about the company.)

For public companies, see the Form 10-K, which is an annual SEC report (government report). You can find the Form 10-K under the "Investors" section on a public company's website. See the Business section of the 10-K for helpful information on a company's products, customers, supply chain, and more. Also see the 10-K section on "Risk Factors."

For help finding and using a public company's Form 10-K, see the "Company Research Tips" menu on this LibGuide.

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This web-based solution provides details on businesses and households within the U.S.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Users can create an individual account with their Butler email address. PrivCo.com is a proprietary database that sources private company financial data.

Mintel is a great resource for consumer information. Be sure to look at the Databooks found with reports.
Statista will help you find reports, statistics, and infographics.
Sports Market Analytics focuses on topics related to sports marketing and consumer behavior.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

HeinOnline is a legal research database. Search for articles or case law using company names or subject keywords (ex: "insider trading").
IBISWorld provides information on supply chain issues within specific industries. If you are researching a company, look for a report for the industry in which the company operates. (Ex: Kroger operates within the grocery store industry).
Passport is a database for international business research. It is a great resource for all kinds of information on industries, products, brands, consumers, and more.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
- This link opens in a new window

Note: Industry research databases mainly provide information on industries (ex: grocery store industry), and not so much on companies (ex: Kroger). However, a report on the grocery store industry will include information on some of the challenges and trends that might impact a major grocery chain such as Kroger.

First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports.
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
See the ebook on "Retail & E-Commerce Market Research.

Business Source Complete and ProQuest One Business are helpful databases for scholarly (academic) and trade publication articles. Articles from the Harvard Business Review are available in the Business Source Complete database.
The Wall Street Journal often publishes articles on large public companies.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Wall Street Journal (online edition at wsj.com)
This will take you to the online edition of the Wall Street Journal. You must sign in to your personal account on this site for full access. See registration instructions in box to the left.

Business Database Help
Business Research Tutorials
Tutorials on business databases and other research resources

MK 473 Retailing (Chamberlaine)

WSJ Registration Instructions

Databases (Organized by Broad Topic)

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS