Research Guides (LibGuides): Chocolate Supply Chain (Siegler): Databases & NAICS Codes

Start with a NAICS Code

A NAICS code can help with industry research; however, if you cannot find a code that fits, try using industry descriptors (keywords).

See below for NAICS codes that may help with your research and use the Census link to look up others.

311351: Confectionery chocolate made from cacao beans
424450: Confectionery merchant wholesalers
424590: Cocoa beans merchant wholesalers
445292: Confectionery stores, packaged, retailing only
722515: Confectionery snack shops, made on premises with carryout services

Look up additional NAICS codes (U.S. Census Bureau)

Helpful Databases

Keywords and key phrases for your topic (*add to this list as you identify industry jargon):

cacao
cocoa
cacao beans (or cocoa beans)
chocolate
chocolate production
confectionery

To find business databases with information on specific topics (ex: industries), go directly to the databases linked under the tabs on this box and/or use the Business Database Help LibGuide (linked in box to the left).

Tips:

Start with an industry overview to become familiar with a topic. Go beyond the first page of the report for detailed info.

Search for reports using NAICS codes or industry keywords.
IBISWorld has national and state industry and economic reports.
The Statista database has statistics, infographics and dossiers (reports).

First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Use these databases to find company profiles and create company lists (ex: competitors). Tip: Filter by NAICS code, industry keyword, and geographic location.

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This web-based solution provides details on businesses and households within the U.S.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect;
Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Users can create an individual account with their Butler email address. PrivCo.com is a proprietary database that sources private company financial data.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.

Public Companies: Mergent Online will provide detailed financials on public companies.
Private Companies: It is difficult to find reliable financials for private companies, so try BizMiner to find financial norms and benchmarks by industry (not for specific companies) and geographic location.
Legal Information: Try HeinOnline.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
BizMiner provides financial and market reports for thousands of U.S. industries at the state, metro, county, or zip code level. Use BizMiner to find financial benchmarks, business startup trends, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Product and industry market research reports. Each report combines data and analysis.

Passport Database Registration Instructions

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Best databases for trade articles: Business Source Complete and One Business.
For scholarly articles: Academic Source Complete and JSTOR
See the CQ Researcher database for special reports, including the "Chocolate Debates."

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Google News
Wall Street Journal (online edition)
You have full access if you signed up for your free Butler WSJ account.

Business Research Tutorials

Chocolate Supply Chain (Siegler)

Which Database should I use?

Report a Database Problem

Start with a NAICS Code

Helpful Databases

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS