Research Guides (LibGuides): GHS 207 Global Women: Resistance & Rights (Stigter-Hayden): Resources for Class

Learn Your Country

Use these sites to learn about your country:

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
U.S. State Department
Learn about travel to various international destinations.
BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
World Culture Encyclopedia
Explores the cultures of countries and peoples around the world.
Country Reports from the Economist
Reports include recent news articles, country profiles, forecasts, fact sheets, and economic data.

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other multidisciplinary research tools.

World Bank
Click on countries and retrieve background information and up to date reports on all countries.

Country and Migration Information

Princeton Center for Migration and Development
"A source for research, teaching and the public dissemination of knowledge regarding migration and development."
United Nations International Migration Policies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

International Database: World Population Estimates and Projections
From the U.S. Census Bureau, provides tables, country rankings and world population information.

International Statistical Agencies
Links to list of international international statistical agencies.
Nation Master
Statistics worldwide on the environment, education, energy, immigration, terrorism, transportation, and more. To verify the source, view the "Source:" field below the graph or table.
UNData
United Nations Statistics Division. Allows users to search and download a variety of statistics from the United Nations
The United Nations Statistics Division
U.N. Human Development Reports
2018 Statistical Update: Includes information related to the development of a country's society, including information related to health, education, income, and poverty.
UN National Statistics Offices
Find the direct link to each UN member country's national statistical office.
World Bank Data and Statistics
Data and statistics provided by national governments.

Mobilizing Global Knowledge by Susan McGrath
ISBN: 9781773850856
Publication Date: 2019-09-15
Mobilizing Global Knowledge brings together academics and practitioners to reflect on a global collaborative refugee research network. Together, the members of this network have had a wide-ranging impact on research and policy, working to bridge silos, sectors, and regions. They have addressed power and politics in refugee research, engaged across tensions between the Global North and Global South, and worked deeply with questions of practice, methodology, and ethics in refugee research. Bridging scholarship on network building for knowledge production and scholarship on research with and about refugees, Mobilizing Global Knowledge brings together a vibrant collection of topics and perspectives. It addresses ethical methods in research practice, the possibilities of social media for data collection and information dissemination, environmental displacement, transitional justice, and more. This is essential reading for anyone interested in how to create and share knowledge to the benefit of the millions of people around the world who have been forced to flee their homes.
Militarized Global Apartheid by Catherine Besteman
ISBN: 9781478013006
Publication Date: 2020-10-23
Catherine Besteman offers a sweeping theorization of the ways in which countries from the global North are reproducing South Africa's apartheid system on a worldwide scale to control the mobility and labor of people from the global South.
Creating Europe from the margins : mobilities and racism in postcolonial Europe by Kristín Loftsdóttir (Editor) Brigitte Hipfl (Editor) Sandra Ponzanesi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000955095
"This edited volume explores the idea of Europe through a focus on its margins. The chapters in the volume inquire critically into the relations and tensions inherent in divisions between the Global North and the Global South as well as internal regional differentiation within Europe itself. In doing so, the volume stresses the need to consider Europe from critical interdisciplinary perspectives, highlighting historical and contemporary issues of racism and colonialism.

Finding Data about Immigration

Data can show up in a variety of places and formats. General data about U.S. populations is typically gathered in the 10-year census and other surveys by the U.S. Census Bureau. First, consider what type of data you are looking for. Next, Consider who might be interested in gathering it (The federal government? State or local government? A government agency? A non-profit organization? A think tank?) and consider where it might be published (A website? A data repository? A book? An article?).

You may want to start with University Library's "Finding Data & Statistics" guide:

Finding Data & Statistics (UL guide)

Federal Government Data

United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Search, browse, retrieve, view, map, print, and download Census data (formerly American FactFinder).

National Archives - Immigration
Includes Mexican Border Crossing Records

State/Local Data

Government Agencies (Federal, State, or Local)

Indiana State Department of Health - Refugee Health Program

Non-Governmental / Non-Profit Organizations

If you have questions or would like help, please contact a subject librarian.

Historical and Local Newspapers

Historical U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Cleveland Call & Post, Indianapolis Star, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, and Wall Street Journal
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

GHS 207 Global Women: Resistance & Rights (Stigter-Hayden)

2/7/2024 Activity

2/7/2024 Slides