Research Guides (LibGuides): Journalism: Newspapers/ News Sources

Multi Newspaper Resources

Newspaper Indexes with Full Text

The resources below provide indexed article access to newspapers.

Best Bets

A Complete List of Newspaper / News Source Databases
A complete' listing of newspaper databases subscribed to by Butler Libraries. Use this link to access individual newspaper indexes to the York Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, etc.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

Other Resources

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, advertisements, editorials, and images from numerous newspapers throughout the 19th century.

Indianapolis Star eEdition This link opens in a new window
This is the digital edition of the print Indianapolis Star. Coverage is for the most current two years. Currently, IndyStar does not offer an academic site license to its online app newspaper.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Indianapolis Star (1903-2004) This link opens in a new window
Historical backfile for the Indianapolis Star

Indianapolis Recorder
Publishing since 1895, The Recorder is Indianapolis's African-American newspaper.

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from a variety grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Social Media Research
Maintained by Arlie Sims at Columbia College Chicago, this LibGuide provides links to sites that allow you to data mine social media platforms for content.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive (VTNA) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to thousands of hours of NBC (ranging from August 5, 1968 to the present) and CNN news broadcasts (beginning in 1995). Current material is not available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast. See this guide for help searching the VTNA collection: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/tvnews_student

What is on the Front Page?

Check out Freedom Forum's Today's Front Pages from around the world.