Research Guides (LibGuides): Sociology: Find Journal & Newspaper Articles

Full Text Journals at the Butler Libraries

The Butler Libraries provide access to many journal titles, some online and some in print format. To browse an alphabetical list of Sociology or Criminology titles, or to search for a specific journal title, follow these links:

Finding Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Indianapolis Star Site License This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for individual access to IndyStar.com and the IndyStar mobile app. The IndyStar eEdition, which is a digital representation of the physical newspaper, is also available through IndyStar.com.
New York Times (Site License) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual New York Times account.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

Core Databases for Sociology

The Butler Libraries subscribe to important article databases that are not freely available via the Web. Search these databases to find journal articles about sociology, criminology, and related topics. In your search result list, look for links to full text, or click the "Find It!" button to access full text from another source, or to request an interlibrary loan.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Social Sciences with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Sage Journals
Sage publishes over 100 academic sociology journals, and you can search for articles from those journals directly on their site

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Social Science Open Access Repository
SSOAR collects electronic full texts from the domain of the Social Sciences and makes these texts available according to the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Scientific Knowledge.
Annual Review in Sociology

Google Scholar

Rather than using Google, which will only provide access to information that is freely available, use Google Scholar to locate and access scholarly library-subscribed content. Google Scholar acts as a metasearch engine, providing results from all library-subscribed databases, and a clickable "Find It" button to link you to full text when available.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Contact Your Librarian!

Charlotte Peterson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Irwin Library, 327
Tuesdays: Science Library, LFH200B2
cpeterson1@butler.edu
317-940-5877

[Charlotte Peterson Instruction Evaluation]

Subjects: Neuroscience, Psychology & Sociology

A "Pro/Con" database

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.

Sociology: Find Journal & Newspaper Articles