Research Guides (LibGuides): Company Research: Databases

Databases for Company Research

A company profile may be a brief directory listing or a detailed report, with information ranging from a headquarters address to lengthy descriptions of the company's operations and financial performance.

Note: Profiles for private companies are usually limited in content, and the financials included in the profile may be "estimated."

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This web-based solution provides details on businesses and households within the U.S.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed information for non-profit organizations, including revenue and expense data, contact information, and annual reports
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Hoover's data is also available in Mergent Intellect;
Hoover's provides information on over 24 million public and private companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, financials, IPO filings, news, and executive bios. Use multiple criteria to create company lists targeted to specific industries or geographic regions. Hoover's also provides a link to industry reports generated by First Research.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by D&B's Hoover's, Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
From the opening search screen, use the Business" box. Also use to build a list of companies that meet specific criteria.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Users can create an individual account with their Butler email address. PrivCo.com is a proprietary database that sources private company financial data.

Financials for companies and financial norms for industries may be found in a variety of sources, including directories, databases and government or commercial websites.

Tip: If the company is public, a likely source is the company's website. To find financial statements on a company website, look for headings such as "Investor Relations," "About Us," or "SEC Filings."

When you find company financials, look for:

The report date
The currency used (in thousands, in millions, in U.S. dollars, etc.)
Whether or not the figures are "estimates."
The source for the financials (the company, the SEC, a directory listing, a database report)

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
BizMiner provides financial and market reports for thousands of U.S. industries at the state, metro, county, or zip code level. Use BizMiner to find financial benchmarks, business startup trends, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data includes: company histories, business, property, officers, directors, long term debt, Moody's ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, stock splits, and dividend payment history. Information also includes annual reports (full-image), company archives for many inactive U.S. firms, EDGAR access for US companies (i.e., 10-K, 10-Q, etc.), and "equity portraits" for over 10,000 U.S. firms.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Morningstar is an investment database that provides information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and options. The database can be used to create a portfolio and conduct company and industry research.

Companies tend to be in the news when they want the PR, when they are performing extremely well, or when they are having problems. Even a small private company may be considered newsworthy by local or national press. Company news may be found in a variety of publication types, including:

Company press releases (often available on company website)
National newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal
State and local newspapers
Regional business publications, such as Indianapolis Business Journal
Business news magazines
Trade periodicals, such as Automotive News

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

Company Research

Databases for Company Research

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS