Research Guides (LibGuides): ME 421: Current Trends in Piano Pedagogy (Miranda): Where to look

Resources

Try searching for "Blog directories"+music or "piano blogs" or "piano pedagogy"+blogs

Want to know how the arts of music affect society? Try searching: impact+arts+society or impact+music+society

Other [Online] Library Catalogs - especially WorldCat- These provide information regarding specific materials that a library (or libraries) owns/own. Use for locating: books, journal titles and holding information (NOT specific articles),scores, & A-V materials
Music-related Databases: Music Index, IIMP, RILM
Education-related Databases: ERIC, Professional Collection
General Databases: Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, Lexis-Nexis Academic- These are databases that the Library pays to provide access to. We pay for "quality" of information. Generally, Commercial/Subscription Databases provide a higher percentage of reliable or authoratative information. Searching commercial databases is usually more time efficient than simply searching "The Net." Online subscription databases come in several different varieties: some give bibliographic citations only to articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers on specific topics; some provide citations and annotations about the works cited; some provide full-text information for articles. Use databases to find quick reference-type information or to find articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and some reference sources.
Internet Search Engines - especially Google Scholar- These resources provide means for finding information on just about any topic on the Internet. There is an incredible wealth of information out there BUT you have to be careful to "check out" Internet sources to determine their reliability. Note such things as:

Who the author or publisher is - what are the author's credentials?,
Is there reason to suspect that the site might reflect a certain bias on the information provided (a ".com" for example is a commercial site interested in making a profit on something!),
Is the site reasonably limited in its scope?
Is the information organized in a manner that is easy to understand and navigate?
Does the site provide references/information regarding where its infomation came from?
How recently was the site updated

Most of you have used "Google." It is great general search engine! For more "academic" information, check out "Google Scholar!" You can find it on the "Dababases" link from the Butler Libraries' Website!

You should be aware of how each one differs from the other and which type is most appropriate for helping to locate certain kinds of information.

Manufacturer Websites - Baldwin, Yamaha, Clavinova, Kawai
Blogs

Butler Library Catalog
Use this link to find materials owned by the Butler Libraries. Note the CALL NUMBERS to locate the resources within the Butler Libraries' buildings!
Journals, A-Z
Use this link to learn how to access various journals and issues of journals.
Google Scholar
Use this Internet search engine to find scholarly materials on "The Net!"

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Online Music Anthology (A-R Editions) This link opens in a new window
A-R Editions' Online Music Anthology is extensive collection of examples designed expressly for music history courses. A-R's Online Music Anthology contains at least twice as many pieces as print anthologies, all newly engraved and available online.
Oxford Dictionary of Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Music includes entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Oxford RefOnline - The Oxford Companion to Music This link opens in a new window
This new online-only edition of The Oxford Companion to Music is a partial revision that focuses on living composers and their music, and adds some terms, works, and cross-references to the original text. Bibliographies have also been substantially revised and updated.

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.

These Butler databases are most relevant to research in Piano Pedagogy and Piano Pedagogy Trends:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

ME 421: Current Trends in Piano Pedagogy (Miranda): Where to look

Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS