LibGuides: FYS: La Musica: Classical Music and the Self: Love, Conflict, and Spirituality: Where to find "stuff!"

Types of Resources

General Search Starting Place:

Online Library Catalogs - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos.

Classic Butler Library Catalog - use to find books, scores, sound recordings (CD & vinyl), DVDs, etc. owned by BU Libraries and NOT owned by BU Libraries; access through inter-library loan!

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Digital Collections - There are a number of sources for online scores. Most of them feature public domain editions. Perhaps the most useful of these databases for "La Musica" are:

Choral Public Domain Library (search by composer)
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project).

Streaming Audio and Visual Resources - use these to locate recordings and videos that you can view from your home or dorm room. You'll find them under "Music" from the "Databases" link on the Butler Libraries Home Page!

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.

Music-related Commercial/Subscription Databases - use to find full-text information or citations to articles about various aspects of music (often the citiations are accompanied by brief summaries or "abstracts' that describe what the article is about.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.

Internet Seach Engines - most of you are familiar with using such search engines as Google, Ask Jeeves, Yahoo, etc. For more schoarly results, try using:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Music

Music by frankieleon. Used under (CC BY 2.0)

FYS: La Musica: Classical Music and the Self: Love, Conflict, and Spirituality: Where to find "stuff!"

Types of Resources

General Search Starting Place:

Music

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS