Research Guides (LibGuides): AM 226/426/626: Piano Studio Class: Where to find "stuff!"

Types of Resources

Online Library Catalogs - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use to find books, scores, sound recordings (CD & vinyl), DVDs, etc. owned by BU Libraries and other libraries which can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

Digital Collections - There are a number of sources for online scores. Most of them feature public domain editions.

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project (Petrucci)
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006 with the goal of freely providing music scores. It has expanded to provide scores, recordings, and analyses with an ultimate goal of gathering all public domain scores and music released to the public. On the main page, visitors may search for works by composer (or composer's nationality), genre, time period, or difficulty.

Streaming Audio and Visual Resources - use these to locate recordings and videos that you can view from your home or dorm room. You'll find them under "Music" from the "Databases" link on the Butler Libraries Home Page!

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
medici.tv This link opens in a new window
medici.tv is an online streaming platform for classical music, with videos of concerts, ballets, operas, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.

Music-related Commercial/Subscription Databases - use to find full-text information or citations to articles about various aspects of music (often the citiations are accompanied by brief summaries or "abstracts' that describe what the article is about.

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.

AM 226/426/626: Piano Studio Class

Types of Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS