Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Resources
Online Library Catalogs - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos.
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Digital Collections - There are a number of sources for online scores. Most of them feature public domain editions. Perhaps the largest and most useful of these databases is IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project).
Streaming Audio and Visual Resources - use these to locate recordings and videos that you can view from your home or dorm room. You'll find them under "Music" from the "Databases" link on the Butler Libraries Home Page!
Naxos Music Library
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
medici.tv is an online streaming platform for classical music, with videos of concerts, ballets, operas, and more.
Music-related Commercial/Subscription Databases - use to find full-text information or citations to articles about various aspects of music (often the citiations are accompanied by brief summaries or "abstracts' that describe what the article is about.