EI 201: Real Business Experience (all sections)

Start with the IBISWorld database for reports that provide information on the industry in which the company operates.  Reports are available for both broad and more specifically defined industries (ex:  restaurants vs. fast food or retail trade vs. women's clothing stores).  

Important: Use the table of contents found in the left menu of the reports to get to detailed information, such as the industry SWOT analysis and competitive landscape. 

*If you do not find what you need in the IBISWorld industry reports, try the First Research database next.

Start with the Mintel Reports database for information on the target customer.

1. Use the box found on the left side of the Mintel Reports search screen to enter the company name or keywords for the industry. Tip:  You will likely have more luck finding information on customers by searching for a report related to the industry rather than a company.  Also remember that an industry may have several sectors. (ex:  fast food, full service, etc.). 
2. It is easier to find information on the results page by using the "List View."  You can change from a Grid View to a List View by using the icons on the right side of the screen. 
3. Note:  For the most detailed information, use the "Content types" menu to filter results to "Reports." 
4. In the report table of contents,  look at the "Consumer Data" to find results of consumer surveys. 
5. If you have never used Mintel Reports, you should first complete the brief tutorial linked below. 

Statista (linked below) is also a helpful and easy-to-use database for consumer information, plus more.

For public companies: Start with the Business Source Complete database to find a Marketline company profile.  For public company financials, including competitor comparisons, go to the "Financials" tab in this research resources box.

*If you do not find what you need in the Business Source Complete company profile, try the Mergent Intellect database next.  To create a list of competitors, use the "Advanced Search" option in Mergent Intellect. 

The Thomasnet.com site will help you identify suppliers and potential competitors.

See below for tips on using a company's website for research.

Company Headquarters:  Look for the company's headquarters address, especially the city/state.  This helps with research when the company has numerous locations and you are trying to find the corporate profile in a database.  

A public company's website targets at least two audiences: 1) Customers and 2) Investors 

• Customers: The opening screen is usually set up for the company's customers.  Here you can review product and service listings, online pricing and menus, promotional content, and much more.  Also look for the company's social media presence on its website to explore how the company uses social media platforms. 
• Investors:   The Investors section is often found at the bottom of the website.  Look for news releases and financials, including SEC filings. An important annual filing is the Form 10-K; it provides information on the company's operations and financial performance.  Tip:  Download the most recent Form 10-K and review the Business section.

You will find a public company's financials in multiple resources, including the Investors section of the company's website. 

Financials for some private companies are available in the PrivCo database.

Tips for using Mergent Online: 

1. Look for the company's fiscal year end and make sure you are reviewing recent annual financials.
2. The Mergent Online database will help you easily compare a company's financials (including ratios) with competitors' financials.   
3. Mergent Online includes financials for public companies; if a competitor is a private company, it will not be listed in the Mergent Online database.  Choose a public competitor for comparison purposes.

• For news articles, try the Indianapolis Star, Regional Business News, and Wall Street Journal databases. 
• For trade articles, try the One Business and Business Source Complete databases.