Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Case Studies--Did you Know?
- Harvard Business Cases are not available through the library; they must be purchased by your students. For alternatives to Harvard Cases, see the options linked on this page.
- If you have written your own case studies, consider submitting them for inclusion in the Sage Business Cases database. Contact your Business Librarian for more information.
Tips for using Videos and other Media
Case Study Resources
- To find case studies in the ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete databases, select the Advanced Search option. Then enter your keyword and select the option to filter results by document or publication type for "Case Study." You can also enter "case studies" in the search box and select "subject terms" in the dropdown box for field type. NOTE: Limit your search results to those cases available in full-text in the database; the Library cannot request case studies via interlibrary loan.
- Teaching notes are available for case studies found in the Sage Business Cases database. Contact your Librarian for a code to access teaching notes.
- Note: You will find Harvard cases in Business Source Complete, but to comply with the policy set by Harvard Business Publishing, you should not distribute these cases (in print or electronically) for course readings. Harvard cases are not sold to libraries, and must be purchased directly by the end user from Harvard Business Publishing for Educators.
Harvard Business Publishing has strict licensing terms regarding access and use of its case studies and articles. Harvard does not sell its cases to libraries. In addition, the cases cannot be placed on reserve at the library or distributed via interlibrary loan. To learn more about obtaining materials from Harvard Business Publishing, go to the site for Harvard Business Publishing for Educators (linked below).
*If you do not want to require your students to purchase commercial cases, such as those from Harvard Business Publishing, consider using one of the free resources linked on this LibGuide.
Butler Streaming Video Subscriptions
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
SAGE Video: Media, Communication & Cultural Studies
This collection offers academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices directly applicable to Communication and Media Studies courses.
Swank Digital Campus
Contains select feature film streaming media content
Digital Theatre +
Contains streaming videos of a variety of theatre productions and includes study materials and interviews with practitioners.