Skip to main content

All About Primary Sources: Home Page

Purpose of LibGuide

This LibGuide is dedicated to making Butler University students, staff, and faculty more aware of the digital primary source databases available through the library’s website. The library subscribes to many of these sites so that students and researchers may have digital access to otherwise inaccessible documents. This LibGuide categorizes the specific databases based on the general provider of the databases, information about how to use primary sources, and which librarian to contact with any research questions.

Questions?

Information Commons's picture
Information Commons
Contact:
Call: 317-940-9227
Text: 317-758-3551
Or stop by Irwin Library: we are located at the Information Commons desk on the first floor and in the Center for Academic Technology offices on the third floor.
Website

Local Physical Archives

Special Collections 

Monday-Friday: 9:00am-4:30pn

Irwin Library 345

(317) 940-9265

 

Indiana Historical Society 

Tuesday-Saturday: 10:00am-5:00pm

450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202

(317) 232-1882

 

Indiana State Library

Mon.,Tues.,Wed. & Fri: 8:00 am to 4:30pm. Thursday: 8:00 am to 7:00pm. Saturday/Sunday Closed

315 W. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

(317) 232-3675

 

Types of Databases


This provider contains three databases dealing with American historical themes such as slavery, abolition, and social justice. There is also a database in this collection that deals with the history of American Advertising.


Adam Matthews Databases


This provider contains databases on themes of Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies, Hollywood in the 20th century, Slavery and Indiana History.


Gale Databases


The largest of the listed providers contains primary source databases that deal with themes of North American histories, Gender Women and Sexuality studies, UK government, religion, food, and global Black Studies.


Alexander Street and ProQuest Databases


This provider has a singular database focusing on slavery in America and throughout the World, specifically in legal contexts.


HeinOnline


Butler University libraries has a subscription to Ancestry.com. This database contains official documents such as birth/death certificates, marriage certificates, census records, and more.


Ancestry Library Edition

Arbuckle Brothers: Serve the coffee the greatest coffee merchants offer their own guests

Arbuckle Brothers: Serve the coffee the greatest coffee merchants offer their own guests

Reproduced with kind permission from Duke University © Kraft

Brillo Manufacturing Company: 99 squeezes in every new soapier Brillo soap pad

Brillo Manufacturing Company: 99 squeezes in every new soapier Brillo soap pad

Reproduced with kind permission from Duke University © Brillo

Eli Lilly & Company: Where there's smoke... there may be bronchitis

Eli Lilly & Company: Where there's smoke... there may be bronchitis

Reproduced with kind permission from Duke University © Eli Lilly and Company

Resource LIbrarian

Vanessa French's picture
Vanessa French
Contact:
317-940-6491

Addis: 1780-1970... but can you spot the earliest? Reproduced with kind permission from Duke University © Addis

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter