Research Guides (LibGuides): Faculty & Staff Resources: Identifying Course Resources

Utilize your Librarians

There are some excellent resources listed on this page - but it's just the tip of the iceberg.

Your subject liaison librarian is an expert in this kind of thing. Reach out to him/her for additional ideas and support.

AVAILABLE VIA BUTLER LIBRARIES

AVAILABLE AS OPEN CONTENT:

Digital Public Library of America
A portal to digital collections from the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, the Internet Archive, universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations. Materials include books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons
"OER Commons is a freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources (OER) and other freely available instructional materials."
Open Course Library
"The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."

AVAILABLE VIA BUTLER LIBRARIES:

Butler's eBook Collections
This LibGuide links you to Butler's major eBook collections and gives specific directions for how to find, access, and use ebooks within the different platforms.

New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

AVAILABLE AS OPEN CONTENT:

Digital Commons--Butler University
Digital Commons now contains more than 10,000 total papers.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources: Open Textbooks
Most of the textbooks on this list have Creative Commons (CC) open licenses or GNU-Free Document License. Others are U.S. government documents in the public domain (PD).
OpenStax CNX
There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.It carries high quality ebooks: All ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers

AVAILABLE VIA BUTLER LIBRARIES:

Note - this LibGuide page gives directions for creating clips/playlists and permalinking items in ways that allow your students easy access.

AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]

AVAILABLE AS OPEN CONTENT:

TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader.
Khan Academy
"Khan Academy features thousands of educational resources, including a personalized learning dashboard, over 100,000 practice problems, and over 6,000 micro lectures via video tutorials stored on YouTube teaching mathematics, history, healthcare, medicine, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, cosmology, American civics, art history, economics, and computer science."
Google Cultural Institute Art Project
"The Art Project is a unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art institutions to enable people to discover and view artworks online in extraordinary detail. Working with over 250 institutions, we have put tens of thousands of works of art from more than 6,000 artists online."
Butler LibGuide: Finding Images & Media
Includes explanations of Creative Commons and Fair Use, as well as step-by-step directions for finding images, audio, and video that you can use. Also includes a page on how to evaluate media sources.

Iceberg by Improulx. Public Domain.

You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.