LibGuides: FYS: Faith, Doubt and Reason (Hege): Getting Started

Want to Reuse this Content?

You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.

Research Exercise

"Portrait of René Descartes (1596-1650)" from Wikimedia Commons

Descartes Paper Resources

This guide was created for you, students of FYS - Faith, Doubt and Reason. I'm here to help with your research, so please contact me when you have questions: phone, email, chat, or drop by my office any time. (See the box to the right.)

The tabs in this box will link you to databases and resources that you may find helpful for your projects.

The tabs at the top of the page will help you find, evaluate, and cite your sources.

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 480 journals of philosophy and related fields.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Additional Philosophy/Religion Databases
Listed here are additional Butler subscribed-to databases that index scholarly journal articles in the philosophy/religion disciplines.

Encyclopedic overviews of key concepts, issues, debates in the philosophy and religion disciplines. Use for background information, overviews, and to find the prominent scholarship that has been written on these topics.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, & Culture This link opens in a new window
This online collection serves as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience, and contains over 900 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 90 volumes).

Credo Reference - Religion is a compilation of various dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks on topics of all religions. Sources include: Atlas of the Bible, Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology, Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend, Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions, Need to Know? Islam, etc.

The Cambridge Companion to Descartes by John G. Cottingham
ISBN: 9780521366960
Publication Date: 1992-09-25
"Descartes occupies a position of piviotal importance as one of the founding fathers of modern philosophy; he is, perhaps the most widely studied of all philosophers. In this authoritative collection an international team of leading scholars in Cartesian studies present the full range of Descartes' extraordinary philosophical achievement. His life and the development of his thought, as well as the intellectual background to and reception of his work are treated at length."
Descartes: A Very Short Introduction by Tom Sorell
ISBN: 9780192854094
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
"Rene Descartes (1596-1650) had a short working life, and his output was small, yet his contributions to philosophy and science have endured. This book shows that Descartes was, above all, an advocate and practitioner of a new mathematical approach to physics, and that he developed his metaphysics to support his programme in the sciences."
Descartes' Meditations: A Reader's Guide by Richard Francks
ISBN: 9780826431080
Publication Date: 2008-07-23
"Descartes' Meditations: A Reader's Guide offers a detailed review of the key themes and a lucid commentary that will enable readers to rapidly navigate the text. Geared towards the specific requirements of students who need to reach a sound understanding of the text as a whole, the guide explores the complex and important ideas inherent in the text and provides a cogent survey of the reception and influence of Descartes' seminal work."

Your Librarian

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, History, Anthropology and Classics, Journalism, Sports Media

Report an Access Problem

Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)

FYS: Faith, Doubt and Reason (Hege): Getting Started

Want to Reuse this Content?

Research Exercise

Descartes Paper Resources

Your Librarian

Report an Access Problem

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS