Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Global Perspectives on Health (Searcy): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

"Global Perspectives on Health"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Resources to Think About

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.

FYS: Global Perspectives on Health (Searcy)

Your FYS Librarian!

Report an Access Problem

Want to reuse this content?

Welcome!

Resources to Think About

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS