LibGuides: FYS: Imaginative Sojourns: Writings about the Self (Lynch): Find Research Articles & Literature Analysis

Databases

Literature-Specific Databases - Scholarly Research Articles

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Literary Criticism Databases - Critical analysis of a work

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Literary Sources provides information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text database providing information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
It is a source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.
Children's Literature Review (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism as well as the full text of Children's Literature Review.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.

General Readership, Trade & Magazine Articles

Consult these databases for book reviews and as primary accounts chronicling current events surrounding a literary work.

Readers' Guide Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Times site license - for registration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for a personal New York Times account. Click the "Star" icon for setup instructions.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Social Sciences with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

Imaginative Sojourns: Writings about the Self

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

FYS: Imaginative Sojourns: Writings about the Self (Lynch)

Worksheet

Librarian Contact for this LibGuide

Want to reuse this content?

Databases

Welcome!

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS