Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: The (Meta) First Year Experience (Abrahams): Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for the First Year Seminar:

"The (Meta) First Year Experience"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Connections are everything : a college student's guide to relationship-rich education by Peter Felten
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781421445960

Publication Date: 2023

"Undergraduate demographics have changed dramatically as students of color and first-generation students become the new majority at colleges and universities across the United States. This book empowers students themselves to seek out relationships themselves, demystifying the varied ways they can cultivate significant connections"-- Provided by publisher.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ERIC site)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present.

Looking for more?

Don't limit yourself to the databases listed above! Do you know what general subject area you need to explore for your research? Try finding a database through the Databases Grouped by Subject page. Pick a subject and you'll be taken to a page where the liaison librarian for that subject has compiled a list of appropriate databases for you to use.

Know which journal you'd like to browse or search through?

You can search for specific journals in Journals A-Z and you can browse issues using Browzine (links below)

Browzine
Browzine allows users to browse, read, and monitor journals which Butler University Libraries provides access to. See also Android and IOS apps.
Journals A-Z
Trying to track down an article? Journals A-Z will show you whether we own the journal, what years we have access to, and give you links into the databases that provide full-text. Search by journal title.

FYS: The (Meta) First Year Experience (Abrahams)

Your FYS Librarian!

Want to reuse this content?

Article Activity

Resources to Consider

Looking for more?

Know which journal you'd like to browse or search through?

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS