FYS: Sustainability & Climate (Templeton)

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

"Sustainability & Climate"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

• To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
• To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
• To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
• To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
• To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
• To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
• To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

LIBRARY CATALOG Go to the "Finding Materials" tab on the LibGuide menu to access the library catalog (Worldcat Discovery).

DATABASE TIPS: 

• Look for filters on the database search results screen to narrow your output (Ex:  full-text, date, peer-reviewed). 
• Timesavers:  Check for database features for saving, sharing, and citing your search results.
• Try searching multiple EBSCO databases at the same time.  Open the EBSCO Academic Search Complete database and click on "Choose Databases" to add other EBSCO databases that focus on selected topics (ex:  business, health, etc.)