Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Journals at the Butler Libraries
The Butler Libraries provide access to many journal titles, mostly via online subscriptions but some in print format. To look up Butler's access to a specific known journal title, or browse subscription e-journal contents by subject area, follow these links:
Core Databases for Race, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
The Butler Libraries subscribe to important article databases that are not freely available via the Web. Search these databases to find journal articles about gender, women and sexuality. In your search result list, look for links to full text, or click the "Find It!" button to access full text from another source, or to request an interlibrary loan.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from a variety grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
Dissertations & Theses A&I
Useful for discovering dissertations and theses on specific topics, but does not contain the full text of each work; use Google Scholar, or look up the author's university's institutional repository to find the full text.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
Rather than using Google, which will only provide access to information that is freely available, use Google Scholar to locate and access scholarly library-subscribed content. Google Scholar acts as a metasearch engine, providing results from all library-subscribed databases, and a clickable "Find It" button to link you to full text when available.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.