Research Guides (LibGuides): Idea of the Theatre: Home

Databases for Theatre-Related Information

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
New Play Exchange This link opens in a new window
The New Play Exchange is a digital library of scripts by living writers which can be filtered by title, length, age level, genre, subject matter, production history, script availability, cast size and characteristics, playwright, and playwright demographics. The database includes a directory of organizations and one of people. Created by the National New Play Network.

Other Useful Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This biographical database offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
Readers' Guide Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.

Journals A-Z

In addition to several print subscriptions, the Butler Libraries provide access to many theatre-related journals through various subscription databases that include (at least some) full-text. To learn how and where to locate a particular journal title and issue, just click on the Journals A-Z link on the Butler Library Homepage and type in the title of the journal in the search box provided. If you do not find the title of the journal you are seeking in this index, search for the journal title using the WorldCat Discovery box!

Use the WorldCat Discovery Box to begin your search. You will find this box in the center of the Butler Libraries' homepage (www.butler.edu/library). This box allows you to search for holdings in the Butler Libraries and beyond and also searches the citations from select online subscription databases.

Once you have the results from your initial search, you can use the limiters on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your results by database (including peer-reviewed articles!), online availability, format, or other useful criteria.

The Advanced Search mode will allow you to search for terms in specific fields (e.g., author, title, subject, etc.), select specific databases to search, and also limit by library (or library group), publication date range, and format.

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
Contains streaming videos of a variety of theatre productions and includes study materials and interviews with practitioners.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.

Find DVDs owned by the Butler Libraries by searching via the WorldCat Discovery Search Box on the Library homepage. (Be sure to select: DVD under the Format limiter on the left-hand side of the initial search results page!)

Idea of the Theatre

Performing and Visual Arts Librarian

Databases for Theatre-Related Information

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS