Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the LibGuide created for students of Introduction to Theatrical Costuming at Butler. I'm happy to help you with locating various materials relating to various settings of Shakespeare's Midsummer Night's Dream and the history of costuming. Please let me know when you have questions by contacting me via LibChat, phone, or e-mail (all listed to your right!). To navigate around this guide, click on the blue tabs at the top of this guide. Each tab represents a page of information!
Books in our Collection
Below are a few of the books in the Butler Libraries' collection related to the study of topics covered in Intro to Theatrical Costuming:
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by
Call Number: REF GT507 .E54 2010 v.1-10
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Publishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an internationalteam of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come. The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth localknowledge.
Fashion History by
Call Number: REF GT580 .F37 2006
Publication Date: 2007-08-30
A fashion history from the 18th to the 20th century Clothes define people. A person's clothing, whether it's a sari, kimono, or business suit, is an essential key to his or her culture, class, personality, or even religion. The Kyoto Costume Institute recognizes the importance of understanding clothing sociologically, historically, and artistically. Founded in 1978, the KCI holds one of the world's most extensive clothing collections and has curated many exhibitions worldwide. With an emphasis on Western women's clothing, the KCI has amassed a wide range of historical garments, underwear, shoes, and fashion accessories dating from the 18th century to the present day. Showcasing a vast selection from the Institute's archives of skilled photographs depicting the clothing expertly displayed and arranged on custom-made mannequins, Fashion History is a fascinating excursion through the last three centuries of clothing trends. The KCI believes that "clothing is an essential manifestation of our very being" and their passion and dedication positively radiate from every page of this book. This special 25th anniversary edition has a chic new format: two volumes packaged in a slipcase.
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000 by
Call Number: GT580 .N85 2000
Publication Date: 2000-02-14
"Joan Nunn's detailed survey of costume in the western world over the past eight centuries not only gives the reader a vivid visual impression of the clothes themselves, but also outlines the historical and social background and the changes in manufacturing techniques and fashionable lifestyle that have influenced the way costume has developed and the manner in which it has been worn." "Each of the nine chapters covers a certain period, with an introductory section followed by descriptions of the underwear, outer garments, hats, footwear, hairstyles, accessories, jewelry, fabrics and colours worn by men, women and children. There are over 800 line drawings, specially made by the author from contemporary sources (carvings, paintings, portraits, fashion plates and photographs)." "This is an illustrated reference book for students of costume, social history and the visual arts and for those concerned with designing costumes for the theatre. It is also for the general reader interested in fashion and the art of dress."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity by
Call Number: OVERSIZE GT523 .I4 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
This volume is the first to explore fashion as a critical aspect of modernity, one that paralleled and many times converged with the development of Impressionism, starting in the 1860s and continuing through the next two decades, when fashion attracted the foremost writers and artists of the day. Although they have depicted fashionable subjects throughout history, for many artists and writers, including Charles Baudelaire, Stéphane Mallarmé, Émile Zola, Gustave Caillebotte, Edgar Degas, Édouard Manet, Claude Monet, Berthe Morisot, and Pierre-Auguste Renoir, fashion became integral to the search for new literary and visual expression. In a series of essays that examine fashion and its social, cultural, and artistic context during some of the most important years of the Impressionist era--years that also gave birth to the modern fashion industry--a group of fifteen scholars, drawn from five interdisciplinary fields, examine approximately 140 Impressionist-era artworks, including those by dedicated fashion portraitists, in light of the rise of the department store, new working methods for designing clothing, and new social and technological changes that led to the democratization of fashion and, simultaneously, its ascendance as a vehicle for modernity.
Medieval Dress and Fashion by
Call Number: GT575 .S36 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
From Renaissance fairs to countless retellings of the legend of Robin Hood to the popular restaurant Medieval Times, people remain fascinated by the medieval era—and in particular the clothing of the time. The richly varied dress of medieval days meant more than just fashion and style, and Margaret Scott offers here an insightful chronicle of the layered meanings of the garb worn by queens, kings, courtiers, and peasants. Scott draws upon the vibrant illuminated manuscripts of the era to analyze the beautiful design and functionality of medieval clothing. Fascinating changes mark the development of medieval fashion, such as the transition in men’s grooming from wearing beards and long hair to being clean-shaven with short hair; the rise in women’s fashion in the fourteenth century as a method of securing a husb∧ and the various types of jewelry, fabric, and subtle garment fittings that managed to convey the important distinctions between the upper class and the peasantry. Such distinctions, Scott reveals, were enforced by intricate and strict laws passed in countries throughout Europe that governed the color, styles, and number of a citizen’s garments according to their career, social class, and even the times of year. Political and religious history were also critical factors, Medieval Dress and Fashion shows, as the book draws from first-hand accounts to analyze how pivotal historical moments such as the Crusades and the fall of the Roman Empire resulted in an unexpected blending of cultures and clothing styles. Whether their interest lies in class or corsets, readers curious about the costumes of the past will be charmed by Margaret Scott’s lively and engaging book.
Survey of Historic Costume by
Call Number: GT511 .T67 2010
Publication Date: 2009-06-08
"Survey of Historic Costume," 5th Edition, which now includes a free student Study Guide, presents a thorough overview of Western dress from the ancient world to the trends of today. Each chapter presents social, cross-cultural, environmental, geographic, and artistic influences on clothing. With visuals, illustrated tables, and in-depth discussions, readers come to recognize recurring themes and concepts and understand the role of dress from a diverse, global perspective. This book is perfect for students, instructors, fashion industry professionals, and anyone interested in historic costume, fashion, art, and design.
The History of Costume by
Call Number: GT510 .P35
Publication Date: 1997-01-07
1. Mesopotamia. 2. Egypt. 3. Crete, Mycenae, and Greece. 4. Etruria and Rome. 5. The Byzantine Empire, AD 330-1095. 6. Western Europe through the Eleventh Century. 7. Twelfth and Thirteenth Centuries. 8. Fourteenth Century. 9. Early to Middle Fifteenth Century: 1400-1459. 10. Later Fifteenth Century: 1460-1499. 11. Early to Middle Sixteenth Century: 1500-1559. 12. Later Sixteenth Century: 1560-1599. 13. Early to Middle Seventeenth Century: 1600-1659. 14. Later Seventeenth Century: 1660-1699. 15. Early to Middle Eighteenth Century: 1700-1759. 16. Later Eighteenth Century: 1760-1799. 17. Early Nineteenth Century: 1800-1849. 18. Late Nineteenth Century: 1850-1899. 19. Early Twentieth Century: 1900-1945. 20. Late Twentieth Century: 1946-1990. Bibliography. Name Index. Subject Index.
WWD 100 Years, 100 Designers by
Call Number: GT596 .W83 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
WWD: 100 Years, 100 Designers tells the story of fashion over the last century through the lens of Women’s Wear Daily, and celebrates 100 designers who have had a powerful impact on what we wear and how we live. Rich with the work of acclaimed photographers and artists, WWD: 100 Years, 100 Designers not only visually chronicles 100 designers who influenced fashion during the first 100 years of Women’s Wear Daily, but also is a testament to the perspective and revolution of one of the most respected publications in the industry.
Call the Library Directly!
Assoc. Dean for Instruction & User Services