Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Supply Chain Management (Siegler): Get Started

Welcome

Welcome to the LibGuide for supply chain research.   Use the resources in this guide to help you find reliable information for your course research projects.   

Questions?  Go to the Contact Librarian tab on this guide.

Which Database should I use?

Review the Business Database Help LibGuide to determine which database best meets your research need.

Which Database do I use chart

Helpful Databases

To find business databases with information on specific topics (ex:  industries), go directly to the databases linked under the other tabs on this box and/or use the Business Database Help LibGuide (linked in box to the left).

Not sure how to use a database?  See the tutorials tab on this box.

Tips:

  • Start with an overview in the IBISWorld or First Research database to become familiar with an industry  Go beyond the first page of the report for detailed info. See the "Websites & Acronyms" section of First Research reports for links to trade sites. 
  • SimplyAnalytics is a tool for finding and mapping data (ex:  demographic and economic).  *Limit of 3 concurrent users
  • Passport focuses on global business with an emphasis on consumer good industries.
  • The Statista database has statistics, infographics and dossiers (reports).

Cluster mapping is a way to collect and present information about industry "clusters" or regional business environments.  The free websites linked below provide cluster mapping for the U.S. and abroad.

Use these databases to find company profiles and create company lists (ex:  competitors). Note:  Mergent Online has financials and supply chain information for public companies.

  • Public Companies:  Mergent Online will provide detailed financials on public companies. Also see a public company's Form 10-K (annual SEC filing).
  • Morningstar includes analyst reports on public companies.
  • Private Companies:  It is difficult to find reliable financials for private companies, so try BizMiner to find financial norms and benchmarks by industry (not for specific companies) and geographic location. 
  • EDGAR is a free SEC database you can use to find company filings.
  • ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete are helpful databases for trade publication articles.  To learn how to find trade publications in these databases, try the tutorial linked on this LibGuide. 
  • Trade publications often have ads, buyers guides, and supplier directories.  
  • Tip:  You can also find trades with a Google search.  Example:  "farm equipment" association. 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter