Native American Heritage Month

Digitized historical and contemporary resources concerning Native American nations, communities, and peoples.

Audio/video, books & printed ephemera, classroom materials, maps, newspapers, prints & photographs digitized by the Library of Congress.

Digital items found in the collections of the American Philosophical Society, an international center for research with specialties in the history of the sciences, early American history, Native American ethnography and linguistics, and digital innovation.

"When the American public is presented with media accounts, public policy, and school curriculum concerning Indian people, the reaction may be curiosity, confusion, and even skepticism. How can we obtain a better understanding of such information? This site addresses this question by highlighting recent research of scholars who have provided new insights about the cultures and histories of Indian peoples in the Midwest. Academic research can show how modern-day issues have roots in regional history and culture and provide necessary background for understanding contemporary issues."-- from their Home page.

Provides online access to historical documents of public records of government boarding schools in New Mexico into the 1930s, and records of the Pueblo Lands Board.

"This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries." -- excerpted from the University of Washington Digital Collections page.

Using Mukurtu CMS as the platform for the Portal allows tribes to determine culturally appropriate access to their cultural heritage and knowledge. The materials in the Portal have been selected, vetted, and curated by tribal representatives from each tribe. The material in the portal represents the histories, languages, cultural belongings, and contemporary lives of the participating tribes. Many digital heritage items have one or more records associated with them, as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives provided by tribal community members that enhance and enrich understanding to many diverse audiences.
The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal is a collaboration between the Spokane Tribe of Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Coeur d'Alene Tribe, the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, the Nimíipuu (Nez Perce) Tribe, and the Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation at Washington State University.

"The Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana." -- from their About page.

Locate information regarding American Indians and Alaska Natives from 1774 through the mid-1990s at National Archives locations throughout the country.

The Center for Native American and Indigenous Research's (CNAIR) "goal is to assist people in finding and utilizing the extensive archival collections at the Library and Museum of the APS in innovative ways that honor Indigenous knowledge, cultivate scholarship, and strengthen languages and cultural traditions." -- from their Home page.

"This guide provides broad coverage of the Native American and Indigenous archival collections at the Library & Museum of the American Philosophical Society (APS). These materials date from 1553 to 2022 and include manuscript, audio, and visual materials relating to Indigenous peoples throughout the Americas." -- from their Home page.

"A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego." -- from their About page.

The Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer collection is one of the largest collections of books and manuscripts on American Indian and Indigenous Studies in the world, as well as language material, artwork, and more. Scrolling down, you can find research guides on the collection, Latin American History, Philippine History, Polynesian History, and more.