Research Guides (LibGuides): Current or Popular Resources: Home

Want to watch a movie?... Streaming Film Databases

Did you know you have access?

Check out these two streaming subscription services that Butler Libraries subscribes to for feature films and motion pictures.

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Contains select feature film streaming media content

Listen to Classical Music

Streaming Music Service

NML can be accessed from any computer. With the iOS and Android apps, subscribers can also access the service on the go with mobile devices.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes includes Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]

Check out a Best Seller from our Popular Reading Collection

Popular Reading Collection - Books for Check-out
We provide a small browsing collection of best sellers available for checkout. These are located in the first floor Alcove of Irwin (near the soda machines) and in a small collection in the Science Library.

Check-out Board Games

Board Games for Check-out at Butler Libraries

Popular Current Sources

Hold on!

Read the description and tip notes for the sources before you click on the links - this provides important information about how to access and download the apps for the sources.

New York Times site license - for registration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for a personal New York Times account. Click the "Star" icon for setup instructions.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries

NYT Reading Tip

An easy way to get started with the NYT is to select the 'Sections' option and browse the 'Most Popular' stories - this provides a mix of articles covering world news, politics, health, science & technology, and arts & culture.

Wall Street Journal Site License- for registration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for a personal Wall Street Journal account. For instructions on how to register, please click the "Star" icon.
Atlantic Online Site License This link opens in a new window
Access TheAtlantic.com website content. (App access is not available at this time)

The Atlantic Access Tip

While this source is not available to institutions as an app, access The Atlantic link via your mobile browser then bookmark it or add it to your Home Screen. Note that you will need to authenticate with your Butler login each time you access the link.

Economist (Site License) This link opens in a new window
Weekly newspaper focusing on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

Press Reader Reading Tip

Select the 'For You' menu item to see a curated feed of articles covering: Top Stories (U.S), Politics, Business, Tech, Health, Sports, Science, the Arts, and Entertainment.

Indianapolis Star eEdition This link opens in a new window
This is the digital edition of the Indianapolis Star. Presently, a site license is not available to institutions.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Site License to and Mobile App Access

Set up an individual Chronicle account with our institutional subscription by following the link provided. Use your Butler email to create an account then search for 'Butler University' as your institution. For mobile access, log into the Chronicle with your personal account on your phone, then add the site to your Home Screen.

Having trouble accessing?

Help! I can't get it to work!

Contact the creator of this LibGuide, Sally Neal, or fill out this Trouble Shooting Form and someone will get back with you to assist!

Librarian Contact for this LibGuide

Sally Neal

she/her

Contact:

I am the subject librarian for:

CCOM: Strategic Communication, Journalism, Sports Media, Esports, Exploratory Communication; LAS: English, Exploratory Studies.

Temporary contact for: Philosophy & Religion, Political Science

Schedule an appt. with me for research support in these disciplines.

109B Irwin Library
317-940-9949
sneal@butler.edu

Neal Library Instruction Evaluation

Subjects: Communication, English, Journalism, Sports Media

Current or Popular Resources: Home

How to Use this Guide