Research Guides (LibGuides): Public Health: Home

Top Public Health Resources

Databases

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This nursing and allied health database includes records from over 5,500 journals, dating back to the 1930s, with full-text access to around 400 current publications. The database also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. Other subjects covered in CINAHL (Comprehensive Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
PsycINFO

PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Scopus
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
UpToDate Online
NOTE: After signing in via this link, users may create a personal login to access content anywhere, but they must re-verify the personal account every 90 days. UpToDate is a comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information on the topics of Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Family Medicine, and Pediatrics.

Grey Literature

CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.
Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European database covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science, and humanities. Includes technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications.
POPLINE contains the world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature. An international resource, POPLINE helps program managers, policy makers, and service providers in low- and middle-income countries and in development-supportive agencies and organizations gain access to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished document.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Health Systems, Management and Policy

Stakeholder and special interest groups

Public Opinion Polling information

Data Directory has public opinion data by nonpartisan organizations
Harris Poll
National Opinion Research Center
Nielsen ratings
Pew Research Center
Rasmussen Reports
YouGov

Social Media (PSAs, blogs, Twitter)

AdCouncil - leading producer of public service advertisements in the United States
YouTube– search your topic and “public service announcement*”
Blogs – try searching your topic and add “blog” (fracking blog)
X – try searching hashtags like #fracking #nongmo.

Public Health Agencies and Reports

Institute of Medicine (IOM)
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (health.gov, healthfinder.gov, HealthyPeople.gov)
Directory of Local Health Departments
State or Territorial Health Departments
Local, State, Regional, National and International Public Health Associations

Agency Action Plans and Agendas – search “public health action plan” and your topic – Example: public health action plan prescription drug abuse.

Elected Official’s Policy Agendas

VoteSmart.org

Health Foundations

Associations

Legislative history (State, Federal, Constitutional)

State Legislative Resources and Individual States
State Legislative History
Indiana General Assembly
Federal Legislative History (including Constitutional)

Global Health

Public Health

Health Sciences Librarian

Attribution Notice

Top Public Health Resources

Grey Literature

Health Systems, Management and Policy

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS