Research Guides (LibGuides): CLA 360 / HST 305: Rome and Film : Home

Welcome!

Welcome!

This course guide is meant to accompany CLA 360 / HST 305 taught by Dr. Christopher Bungard.

The purpose of this guide is to provide you with tools to assist you in accomplishing your course goals and objectives.

Through your participation in this course, you will (from the syllabus):

Explore ways that Ancient Roman perspectives compare to our own
Utilize primary and secondary sources to identify significant aspects of Roman culture
Learn to analyze antiquity through textual and visual analysis

Your librarian and the libraries are here to help - use us early and often!

Spartacus and the Slave Wars by Brent D. Shaw
ISBN: 9781137121615
Publication Date: 2016-04-30
In 72 B.C., in the heart of Rome's Mediterranean empire, a slave named Spartacus ignited one of the most violent episodes of slave resistance in the history of the Roman Empire - indeed in the world annals of slavery. This volume organizes original translations of 80 Greek and Latin sources into topical chapters that look at the daily lives of slaves trained as gladiators and those who labored on farms in Italy and Sicily, including accounts of revolts that preceded and anticipated that of Spartacus. In a carefully crafted introductory essay, Shaw places Spartacus in the broader context of first and second century B.C. Rome, Italy and Sicily and explains why his story continues to be a popular symbol of rebellion today. The volume also includes a glossary, chronology, selected bibliography, three maps, an annotated list of ancient writers, and questions for consideration.

Resources to Think About

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Contains select feature film streaming media content
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, Butler University Libraries pays for licenses that hit usage triggers)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.

Streaming Media & Images - Butler Libraries' Comprehensive List

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
An online database of information related to film and TV, including lists of actors who appeared in films.
The Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)
A large collection of movie scripts - primary source material!
Movie Review Query Engine
One of the largest online databases for movie reviews. Provides a searchable index of published and available movie reviews.
UC Berkeley Film & Media Studies: Collections
Includes links and web sites devoted to film history and scholarship; film industry information; film script sites; film festival information; film and video associations.
Reel Classics
A comprehensive site dedicated exclusively to information on classic movies.
Lantern Media History
The search and visualization platform for nearly 2 million pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Sources for Film Reviews

Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Film reviews can also be accessed from this database.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

Movie Review Query Engine
Free online index of movie reviews from both offline and online sources.
Variety Magazine Film Reviews
An entertainment trade magazine. They post many of their publication's film reviews online for free. For a more complete listing of Variety reviews, search the online Film & Television Literature Index listed above.

Primary Source Research

When studying film, primary sources include not only the film itself but analyzing the cultural scene and film artifacts (press releases, media kits) at the time that the film was made. Search the databases below to find magazine, newspaper, and other news/information sources that were published when the film was released.

Readers' Guide Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

Cinefiles: The University of California Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
Contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
The Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)
A large collection of movie scripts - primary source material!

CLA 360 / HST 305: Rome and Film

Your Subject Librarian

Welcome!

Resources to Think About

Additional Film Research Sources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS