Sociology

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.

PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org

Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for individual access to IndyStar.com and the IndyStar mobile app. The IndyStar eEdition, which is a digital representation of the physical newspaper, is also available through IndyStar.com.

An online news publication focusing on Indianapolis, launched in December 2023 by nonprofit news organization Free Press Indiana. Access to Mirror Indy is free and does not require registration or a subscription.

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Click the "Star" icon for instructions on how to register for an individual New York Times account. Includes access to News, Cooking, Audio, and Wirecutter.

Once you are registered, you can log in to your account directly at nyt.com. Faculty and staff accounts must be renewed every four years.

This resource is provided by SGA, Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Butler University Libraries

Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

Access to 7000 newspapers and magazines, including international sources.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.