Research Guides (LibGuides): Sports Media: Sports Marketing

Research & Trade Article Databases

Research & Trade Article Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Subject Listing of Databases
A complete listing of subscription-based databases available to Butler students, faculty and staff.

Market Research Statistical Tools

Market & Demographic Research - What consumers buy, engage with, think, and value

Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directories.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Via questionnaires and interviews, MRI-Simmons provides a study of American consumer behaviors regarding: media usage, products/brands used, engagement with entertainment & leisure activities, and additional questions on behaviors, activities, and values. Survey participants' demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics are also included.

To interpret your Cross Tab results, consult: Understanding Crosstab Results
To cite an MRI-Simmons Crosstab or Quick Report, go to: How to cite Butler databases

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 100,000 data variables.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Market Research reports contain a number of business reference handbooks These reports cover: Consumer Behavior • Consumer Marketing • Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile • Entertainment & Leisure Market Research • Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research • Retail & E-Commerce Market Research • Sports Marketing • Travel & Tourism Market Research • U.S. Cities & Communities • Business-to-Business Marketing.

Claritas: ZIP Code Look-up
Claritas’ lifestyle segmentation systems define every household in the U.S. by distinct lifestyle types called segments to provide a picture of who lives where and what they are like. Marketers use these insights to create more effective and efficient marketing strategies.

Market Research Databases

Market Research Databases - provide reports and statistics on markets for: consumer goods, services, companies, and activities (work, leisure, entertainment, etc.).

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports. Industry research reports provide key statistics, market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecasted performance, major industry participants, and other information.
First Research (via Mergent Intellect) This link opens in a new window
First Research provides comprehensive research reports on over 200 industries. Search by keyword, SIC, or NAICS codes to find industry studies that cover trends and opportunities, the competitive environment, financials, and executive profiles. NOTE: To get to First Research, click on the First Research link below the search bar on the Mergent Intellect home page.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers from approximately 200 countries.

Nielsen Insights
Nielsen, provides market research, insights & data about what people watch, listen to, & buy. Insight articles analyze consumer trends, behaviors and activities. These articles are provided for free on the Nielsen website platform.

Sports Business Journal

The Sports Industry News Source

(SBJ) SportsBusiness Journal is a sports news provider providing original reporting and analysis. SBJ provides the news, the networking and the data to keep informed about the sports industry. The sites' weekly and daily content provides original reporting and news aggregation, plus newsletters, podcasts and video. Note: A limited number of articles are available for free on their website. To search and find additional articles from the publication, go to the library subscription database: Nexis Uni, linked below.

SportsBusiness Journal
Link to their website. Note that only a limited number of articles can be access for free. Search the Library's Nexis Uni database for additional articles in this publication.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

To search for articles from Sports Business Journal in Nexis Uni:

From the Nexis Uni home page, in the upper left select Menu > All Sources.
In the Search Within Sources box, enter Sports Business Journal.
Select the publication from the results list and click Get Documents, located under the vertical ellipsis
Use the Search within Results box to find articles on your topic.

Butler Libraries Catalog

Search Butler Libraries

Sports Media

Tutorial STR Sports Promotion

Citing Sources

Your Librarian