Research Guides (LibGuides): Professional Development Resources for Technical Services: Acquisitions/E-Resources

Acquisitions and Electronic Resources

Acquisitions and Electronic Resources Information and Training

Charleston Conference Proceedings Archive
Proceedings and video archive of presentations from the annual Charleston Conference
ALCTS Collections Webinars
Older webinars are freely available
Fundamentals of Acquisitions course ($)
This fee-based training is provided by the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)
LibLicense
The Liblicense Project provides a Model License as template for libraries negotiating license digital content and other supporting resources.
LibLicense-L Discussion Forum
A moderated list for the discussion of issues related to the licensing of digital information by academic and research libraries.
ISSN Portal Newsletters
Access the newsletter (you can also subscribe) and other information on understanding the International Standard Serial Number and its uses.
ISSN International Portal
Published by the ISSN International Centre, the Portal lists all ISSNs assigned to serial publications.Considered the most complete reference source in the world for the identification of serial publications.
Against the Grain daily email list
Current news about libraries, publishers, book jobbers, and subscription agents.
Electronic Resources and Libraries (ER&L) mailing list:
Resources on ER&L annual conferences, conference presentations, and webcasts at a fee for non-members.
Core Competencies for Acquisitions Professionals
Outlines competencies that are needed across the span of an individual’s professional career to perform acquisitions functions. Prepared by the ALA ALCTS Acquisitions SectionEducation Committee of the Acquisitions Section Education Committee.
UKSG Webinars
Free webinars on electronic resources topics (from a group based in the UK)
PCC Provider-Neutral E-Resource Guidelines
MARC Record Guidelines for electronic monographs, serials, and integrating resources
Listing of Diverse-Owned Bookstores in the US
Provided by We Need Diverse Books

NISO Standards

NISO Transfer Alert Services notifications: https://journaltransfer.issn.org/
A notification service available through an RSS feed or by signing-up to a dedicated mailing list. Librarians, information professionals, and representatives of other organisations with an interest in journal transfers are encouraged to sign up to the list. Every time a journal transfer is announced through the TAS, registrants receive email alerts detailing the journal(s) involved, bibliographic information, and contact details for the publishers involved.
NISO webinar archive: https://www.niso.org/events/archive
NISO standards & publications: https://www.niso.org/publications

NASIG Resources

Reference Resources

Gregory, Vicki L. 2019. Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections: An Introduction. Second edition. Chicago: American Library Association.

Edwards, Kimberley A, and Michelle Leonard, editors. 2019. Assessment Strategies in Technical Services. An ALCTS Monograph. Chicago: ALA Editions.

INSPIRE -- Indiana's Virtual Online Library which includes databases and other resources at no cost for Indiana residents. Search for 'Technical services (Libraries)', Acquisitions, and/or 'Electronic information resources' for current articles (or search your library's databases)

Professional Development Resources for Technical Services

Acquisitions and Electronic Resources Information and Training

NISO Standards

NASIG Resources

Reference Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS