Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AWOL: Ancient World Online
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Gateway to the Classics
Provided by Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Academic Edition), the Gateway to the Classics provides an introduction to significant works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science, arranged by author and subject. The "Additional Readings" are an excellent place to find Secondary Sources.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies
Coverage: 1958-present (Vols. 1-current)
Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies is a peer-reviewed, open access journal
published quarterly and devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance.
The Journal of Hellenic Studies
Coverage: 1880-2009 (Vols. 1-129); most recent volumes available in print
at Irwin Library.The Journal of Hellenic Studies
was first issued in 1880 and is internationally recognized as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of Classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics, and reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies.
Coverage: 1932-2013 (Vols. 1-82)
Founded in 1932 and devoted primarily to the timely publication of reports on projects sponsored by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Hesperia also publishes articles in the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, and literature. Articles presenting primary research, interdisciplinary studies, theoretical discussions, and syntheses of topics and problems are all featured. Studies on the history and practice of archaeology and ethnography in the Mediterranean are also included.
Greece & Rome
Coverage: 1931-2007 (Vol. 1 - Second Series Vol. 54)
Greece & Rome features informative and lucid articles on ancient history, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and the classical tradition.
American Journal of Archaeology
Coverage: 1897-present (Vols. 1-current)
The American Journal of Archaeology, the journal of the Archaeological Institute of America, is one of the world's most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals. Founded in 1885, it publishes ground-breaking articles on archaeology and thoughtful book and museum exhibition reviews.
Coverage: 1954-2009 (Nos. 1-56)
Archaeological Reports provides fully illustrated accounts of archaeological work in Greece and other parts of the world that were sites of Greek culture.
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World by
Publication Date: 2012
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World presents an interdisciplinary, methodologically-based collection of newly-commissioned essays from prominent scholars on the study of women in the ancient world.
Goddesses, Whores, Wives and Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity by
Call Number: HQ1134 .P64 1975
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
"Examines women's public and private lives, roles, activities, and influences and their social, economic, legal, political, and literary status in the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, from the late Bronze Age to the death of Constantine."
Women in the Classical World: Image and Text by
Call Number: HQ1127 .W652 1994
Publication Date: 1994-09-15
Written by a team of distinguished Classical scholars and art historians, this book is the only study that integrates the wide range of materials on the women of ancient Greece and Rome into one accessible volume. Women in the Classical World gathers the most important primary written and visual sources on the lives of ancient women and presents them in a chronological sequence, within their historical and cultural contexts."
Women's Life in Greece and Rome: A Source Book in Translation by
Call Number: HQ1127 .W653 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-23
"This highly acclaimed collection provides a unique look into the public and private lives and legal status of Greek and Roman women of all social classes-from wet nurses, prostitutes, and gladiatrixes to poets, musicians, intellectuals, priestesses, and housewives. The third edition adds new texts to sections throughout the book, vividly describing women's sentiments and circumstances through readings on love, bereavement, and friendship, as well as property rights, breast cancer, female circumcision, and women's roles in ancient religions, including Christianity and pagan cults."
Birth, Death, and Motherhood in Classical Greece by
Call Number: HQ1134 .D36 1994
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
"Why did Greek society foster social conditions, especially early marriage with its attendant early childbearing, that were known to be dangerous for both mother and child? What were the actual causes of death among women described as dying of childbirth in the Hippocratic Epidemics? Why did families choose to portray labor scenes on tombstones when the Greek commemorative tradition otherwise avoided reference to suffering and illness? In Birth, Death, and Motherhood in Classical Greece, Nancy Demand offers the first comprehensive exploration of the social and cultural construction of childbirth in ancient Greece."
Women in the Ancient World: The Arethusa Papers by
Publication Date: 1984-06-30
"Women in the Ancient World brings together essays that examine philosophy, social history, literature, and art, and that extend from the early Greek period through the Roman Empire. Their wide range of critical perspectives throws new light on the personal, political, socio-economic, and cultural position of women."
Athenian Prostitution: The Business of Sex by
"This is a study that examines the sale of sex in classical Athens from a commercial (rather than from a cultural or moral) perspective. As a mercantile activity, however, prostitution was not untouched by elite Athenian antagonism toward business; as the “business of sex,” prostitution further evoked negativity from segments of Greek opinion uncomfortable with any form of carnality. Yet ancient sources also adumbrate another view, in which the sale of sex, lawful and indeed pervasive at Athens, is presented alluringly. The book explores the high compensation earned by female sexual entrepreneurs who often controlled prostitutional businesses that were perpetuated from generation to generation on a matrilineal basis, and that benefited from legislative restrictions on pimping. The author juxtaposes the widespread practice of “prostitution pursuant to written contract” with legislation targeting male prostitutes functioning as governmental leaders, and explores the seemingly contradictory phenomena of extensive sexual exploitation of slave prostitutes (male and female) coexisting with Athenian society’s pride in its legislative protection of slaves and minors against sexual outrage."
Envy, Poison, and Death: Women on Trial in Classical Athens by
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
"At the heart of this book are some trials conducted in Athens in the fourth century BCE. In each case, the charges involved a combination of supernatural activities, including potion-brewing and cult activity; the defendants were all women. Because of the brevity of the ancient sources, and their lack of agreement, the precise charges are unclear; the reasons for taking these women to court, even condemning some of them to die, remain mysterious. This book takes the complexity and confusion of the evidence not as a riddle to be solved, but as revealing multiple social dynamics. It explores the changing factors—material, ideological, and psychological—that may have provoked these events. It focuses in particular on the dual role of envy (phthonos) and gossip as processes by which communities identified people and activities that were dangerous, and examines how and why those local, even individual, dynamics may have come to shape official civic decisions during a time of perceived hardship. At first sight so puzzling, these trials come to provide a vivid glimpse of the sociopolitical environment of Athens during the early to mid-fourth century BCE, including responses to changes in women’s status and behaviour, and attitudes to particular supernatural/religious activities within the city. This study reveals some of the characters, events, and local social processes that shaped an emergent concept of magic: it suggests that the legal boundary of acceptable behaviour was shifting, not only within the legal arena, but also with the active involvement of society beyond the courts."
Pandora's Daughters: The Role and Status of Women in Greek and Roman Antiquity by
Call Number: HQ1134 .C3513 1987
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
"Expanded and updated for this English-language translation, this book offers the first history of women in ancient Greece and Rome to be written from a legal perspective. Cantarella demonstrates how literary, anecdotal. and judicial sources can and cannot be used to discover that Greek and Roman men thought about women."
The Archaeological Site of Pompeii
History of the archaeological site of Pompeii.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
News and commentaries about "open access materials relating to the ancient world."
Diotima: Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Materials for the study of women and gender in the Ancient World
Ephesus: The Ancient City
Images from archaeological sites around Ephesus.
Hellenic Ministry of Culture: Archaeological Sites
History, description, and photos of Greek archaeological sites sponsored by the Greek Ministry of Culture and Sports
The Institute of Classical Archaeology
Information about the excavations undertaken by The Institute of Classical Archaeology (ICA) at Metapontum, Croton, and Chersonesos. Includes online resources
about classical archaeology.
Landward Archaeology Blogs
A collection of archaeology blogs listed by most recent updates.
Tour Greek archaeological sites. (Requires QuickTime
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
View the Exhibitions and Collections of New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art.
View the Exhibitions and Collections of Rom's Musei Capitolini.
Odysseas: Ministry of Culture and Sports
Online digital history hub featuring an interactive culture map of Greece, a chronological chart, photographic archive, and glossary, as well as profiles of museums, monuments, and archaeological sites.
Open Access Archaeology
A blog dedicated to highlighting open access publications in the field of archaeology.
Ostia: Harbor City of Ancient Rome
"This website is dedicated to Ostia, the harbour city of ancient Rome. Here you will find information for professional archaeologists and historians, for students of Roman archaeology and history, and for interested lay-people."
Perseus Digital Library: Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
"Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object."
The Pompeii Forum Project
A collaborative research venture that is archaeologicaly based, heavily dependent upon advanced technology, and so conceived as to address broad issues in Pompeii's urban history and urban design.
Roman Vindolanda Fort & Museum
Explore the remains and uncovering of an ancient Roman fort and view the exclusive collection of items excavated at Vindolanda.
Vindolanda Tablets Online
"This online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England, includes a searchable online edition of the tablets, an introduction to the tablets and their context, and a guide to aspects of the tablets' content."
The British Museum
View the Exhibitions and Collections of The British Museum.
Report an Access Problem
Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)
Want to Reuse this Content?
You are welcome to reuse the content of this Guide as long as you attribute Butler University Libraries.